thoughts

The Thing About Make-Up


Hey guys!

Here’s another slightly ranty post, but I think it has to be said. You may have read loads of people’s opinions about make-up, and whether people are prettier with or without it, but I just wanted to write about my opinion and my experiences on the whole thing.

Firstly, I don’t really see why it’s such a big deal. Why are some girls called “fake” when they wear make-up, but they’re called “ugly” when they don’t? I am one of those girls who doesn’t wear make-up on a regular basis, simply because most of the time I can’t be bothered to get up 10 minutes earlier to put it on. I’d rather spend those 10 extra minutes in bed. But when I do wear make-up, it’s not to impress anyone, it’s just because I want to wear make-up. There’s nothing else about it.

When I choose to wear make-up, it’s not because I feel insecure on that day. I’m perfectly happy walking around in public bare faced, even if I’ve got a break out of spots. Why? Because I’ve spent most of my teenage years not wearing very much make-up anyway. I also have this weird thing, especially when I was at school, where if I came in wearing no make-up on Monday, and then on Tuesday I came in wearing foundation and mascara and all of that, I’d hate it when people asked me “Are you wearing make-up?” I don’t know why, but looking back on it now, I think it’s because I wondered why it was their business. Why can’t I wear make-up? What difference does it make if I do or don’t?

Now I’m at university, I have worn make-up more often than I did, but it’s still not “over the top”. On a normal day, I’ll probably just do my eyes, and even then I try to make it look as natural as possible, just because that’s what I prefer. I don’t have bright purple eye-shadow, because that’s not really my thing. I have been trying to get better at doing eye-liner, which is something I’d never attempt when I was at school. But most days I still don’t wake up thinking about whether I should wear make-up or not…. if that makes sense. I just put it on if and when I feel like it.

I don’t wear make-up to impress guys or anyone else. I wear make-up because sometimes I think it looks nice and I want to wear it. That’s it. There’s no reason other than that. So is make-up pointless? No. I know that some girls wear make-up because they are really insecure and it’s a way to express themselves. There are probably 101 other reasons why girls wear make-up, but everyone’s different.

That’s just my opinion. I don’t really know if I expressed that all as well as I wanted to, but it kind of sums everything up. The final thing I wanted to say is this: Guys have said to me before that I’m prettier without make-up, which I appreciate. But I’m still going to wear make-up when I want to. It’s not going to make me not wear it, just because someone has said that I look fine without… I really hope I don’t sound rude, but itΒ is my face,Β and I’m going to do what I want with it.

Okay, I think that’s a good ending point. What do you guys think?

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “The Thing About Make-Up”

  1. I’m the same as you! Sometimes I wear it if i feel like putting any on in the morning, and some days i wont because sleep and can’t be bothered. People’s negative opinions about makeup and girls who wear it is 100% (internalised) misogyny, which is a shame :/
    People should be able to wear makeup if they love it without feeling judged, and should be able to go bare-faced without being called ugly or sick! (Also guys + non-binary people should be able to wear it if they want to! everyone gets pimples! make up isn’t gendered! and it can be fun!)

Leave a Reply

