thoughts, university

In The Space of a Month


Hey guys!

I’ve been in Winchester for over one month now. One month and 13 days to be exact. And it’s hit me how fast things have gone. It doesn’t feel like I’ve not been home in that amount of time. I have friends who feel like life-long friends but I’ve only known them for a month, and that is really weird for me. In a good way, of course.

I’m going home for the first time in just under two weeks. I’m looking forward to it, because I get to see my friends and my family and my dogs and my cats, but at the same time, I just keep thinking about how different it’s going to be. Before I left, they had just started building some new houses across the road from my high school, so I wonder how much that has developed.

In Exeter, they had started renovating the shopping centre, and I want to know how far that’s come along. There are all these things which are changing back home, and as much as I want to see them changing, I also know that it won’t ever be the “home” that I grew up in for the last 10 years. Does that make any sense?

Since being here, I’ve just found that time has sped up- it’s like someone has clicked fast-forward and they don’t know how to press stop, pause, or re-wind. I mean, Christmas is in exactly two months. Two months!? That sounds like a long time, but it’s just around the corner. And then suddenly it’s going to be January. I’m going to turn 19. I’m going to start looking for a house (again). And then I’ll look back on this post, and think “It doesn’t feel like October was four months ago”.

I don’t really know what this post is supposed to say… I don’t like how fast time is going and how quickly things have changed, but I definitely don’t want it to slow down. Not yet, anyway. I think I just contradicted myself, but I don’t really know how to explain it… I’m having such a good time here, but when I stop and think about how fast the time has gone, it shocks me.

What’s weird is that I’ve only lived in my flat for a couple of weeks, but it feels like it’s been much longer. It feels like I’ve known my flat mates from the start of September, rather than the start of October. And I know my journey up to this point hasn’t been exactly “easy”, or “perfect”, but I think it’s made me a stronger person, and more independent. I remember being so stressed out about everything, but now everything has fallen into its place, and quite frankly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

