university diaries

University Diaries: Personal Statement


Hey guys!

It’s time to write about the dreaded personal statement. I know, I know… it sucks because writing about yourself isn’t exactly the most “fun”, but your future university wants to know why they should choose you. So you’re just going to have to stick it out for a couple of weeks.

I remember writing my personal statement this time last year. I’ve always hated beginnings of essays, and this was no different. My mum had started making a list of things my sister and I could include in our personal statements back in August because my brother had been through it the year before, and she knew that starting early would make life a lot easier, and a lot less stressful.

When you write your first draft of your personal statement, just remember that it won’t be perfect- like anything. I can’t stress enough how important it is to get other people to read your personal statement, be it teachers, parents, or friends, because having other people’s input will really help you out. Make sure you ask people you trust as well, because these will be people who know you really well and they might be able to give you more ideas about things to include. It’s also a good idea to ask English teachers to proof read your personal statement drafts, even if you’re not an English student, just so they can check on things like spellings and grammar. Universities like to see that their future students have good writing skills, so even if writing isn’t your forte, just try and make it look like it is!

I ended up writing about 7 drafts of my personal statement, which may seem like a lot for some people, but I have a friend who wrote about 10 drafts. It will be different for everyone, and I remember not really knowing if my final draft was enough, or if it was good enough. But there is a deadline, and unfortunately, universities don’t like to wait around for anyone- no matter how special you are!

So my top tips for writing your personal statement are:

  • Start early
  • Ask friends/teachers/family members for advice or to proof read
  • Check your grammar and spelling
  • Don’t be afraid to write numerous drafts

I hope this helps! I’m aware that some schools (including my old high school) have already had their deadline so if you are one of those, then I’m sorry if this came a bit late, but for those of you who are still writing and re-drafting, I hope this is of some use! If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments.

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “University Diaries: Personal Statement”

Leave a Reply

