university

I’ve Moved Again


Hey guys!

I am currently sitting in my new room. In my new flat. Which is on campus. I’m just relieved that I’ve got a room at university, even though it wasn’t any of my top choices, it’s better than nothing. Yes, it’s louder, there’s a guy who plays music upstairs, and there’s a girl shouting something outside… I’m not sure who she’s talking to.

The room is pretty big, which is great because I have so much stuff with me, and so many bags to put all my stuff in. So there’s a lot of space around the room to put my bags- and I’m sure these bags will come in handy now that in England it costs 5p for a plastic bag.

I’ve met my flatmates once which was on Friday when I first came to see the room itself, and they all seem nice- judging by first impressions. There’s even an American guy on my floor! Which is cool. You know… because he’s American. And he has an accent. No big deal.

As happy as I am to finally be living on campus, there’s still a part of me that feels like I’ve missed out on so much. Everyone here as already met each other, so I’m just worried about it being awkward tomorrow morning, with people looking at me like “Wait, does she live here now? I didn’t know we were getting a new flatmate?” etc. etc. etc.

I know it’s not going to be that bad, but it’s just something that I’ve been thinking about. I’ve spent the last 3 hours or so in my room- most of that time was sorting out clothes and books and fairy lights- so I haven’t really seen anyone. There is a girl who had her door open when I was moving my stuff in and I spoke to her for a bit in the kitchen, but that’s about it really. I have a friend who lives on a different floor in the same building who helped me out as well. I know him from my course which is nice, because it means I’m not completely alone. We’re going out with some others to the pub later, so at least I’ll actually be able to socialize.

The only bad thing about moving in this afternoon was that I missed the 2 hour training session of dodgeball which is mixed boys and girls. Last week I got hit in the stomach and also on my knee, and my fingers were also hit by a ball (you know when it bends your fingers back?) so I’m not too gutted, but I do enjoy dodgeball. I’m terrible at it, but the people are nice there, and when you join new teams, I really think it’s the people who make all the difference.

So that’s my little update for today. I have my first presentation tomorrow morning, and I’m the first one going in my seminar group, so that’s going to be interesting. All the other people are doing their’s the Monday after next, because our seminars for this module are fortnightly. Oh, and it’s also worth 25%. No biggie.

– The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “I’ve Moved Again”

  1. Good luck in your new flat. I m glad that you have finally got something more permanent sorted out. I am sure you will soon make friends with the others, plus you already know someone which helps!
    Good luck with the presentation tomorrow. πŸ™‚

  2. i find it funny that you like the American boy’s accent. As an American girl, i can tell you we love the boys with English accents…they sound so smart and handsome hahaha I’ve never really wondered what Its like the other way around. Good luck in the new space ❀

Leave a Reply

