Travels, university

Studying in Japan?!


Hey guys!

My inspiration is back, I can feel it, because this is one of three posts I’ve written in less than 5 hours. That’s a good thing!

I’ve always wanted to travel and see more of the world, and I always knew I wanted to go on a year abroad/semester abroad. When I started studying English with American Literature, I assumed I would go and take this opportunity to study in America, if I got the chance, but in my Wednesday morning lecture, we were told about the opportunity to study in one of two Japanese Universities, and we would also be able to get a TEFL Qualification.

TEFL basically means “Teaching English as a Foreign Language”, and it’s a bit of an easy way in. I don’t really want to be a teacher, but then I don’t really know what I want to do, so I think that if I was able to go to Japan and do a TEFL course while I’m there, it would be like killing two birds with one stone. I hate that idiom but it’s the easiest way to sum this whole thing up!

I haven’t applied to do this yet, because usually when you study abroad, it is in your second year, and I’ve only just started my first! But they started giving out application forms really early, even though we have until December to fill them in, and then in January they start doing interviews, and then only 8 students will be picked to actually go to Japan. I would love to do this, but I am still a bit undecided. Because I also want to apply to be a Camp Counsellor in an American Summer Camp over the summer (obviously) so even though there’s a lot of time in between both of these travelling opportunities, I kind of just want to pick one and focus on that. At the moment I’m leaning towards the Japanese trip (if I decided to actually go ahead with it) because I’ve been to America once, and Japan is somewhere totally different. I know that going to America would link better with my course, which I understand completely, but I think that going to Japan is a once in a lifetime chance. I don’t think I’d do it again if I didn’t go for my semester abroad.

You all know how much I love travelling. I’ve been to some great places, and all I want to do is to discover more of the world. I’ve never been that far East- I think the furthest I’ve gone is Estonia. So if I was lucky enough to be able to go to Japan and get a teaching qualification, I think it would make it all worth it in the end. It would definitely be an experience I wouldn’t forget. Also, I know I said I don’t want to be a teacher, but I also said I don’t know what I want to do. Maybe doing this could give me an insight to what it’s really like? And I would be able to decide once and for all whether teaching would really be my thing.

I know I’m thinking really far in advance, because it’s over a year away, but I’m still getting really excited about it. And even if I don’t get to go to Japan, I would definitely try and apply to go to America- that’s definitely not off the cards!

Have any of you guys studied abroad before?

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

