university

Student DIY Costumes


Hey guys!

I went to a Disney themed party last night, and after thinking long and hard, I decided to go as Lilo (from Lilo and Stitch… if it wasn’t obvious). As I am a student, I don’t have loads of money to spend on costumes costing £20+ so I thought I’d write a post for you guys and tell you how I got my costume together really cheaply and really quickly.

The Outfit

So I already had a t-shirt which I felt was very Lilo, and Hawaiian which I brought with me to university. This was the most expensive item of clothing at £18 as I got it at a retro/second hand shop but since I had bought it before I left, I don’t know if it really counts… However, I suggest that you bring things to university that you might want to dress up in because you never know when it might come in handy.

I was going to look for a green skirt, but I couldn’t find one anywhere. I looked in Primark, and found they had some green shorts on sale for only £1 so I decided to change the look slightly. Again, when you’re dressing up, it doesn’t matter if you don’t look exactly like the character. You’re a student now, and you want to get things for a low price, even if it means thinking outside the box a little bit. Also, try and look in places where they do student discounts, because you are looking for the cheapest things possible! Don’t forget about charity shops either, because they usually have some really good quality clothes for a good price, and you know your money will be helping a good cause.

And finally, I wore a pair of black flip flops which I got for free at fresher’s fayre a few weeks ago.

The Accessories

I went to a fancy dress shop, and found a flower necklace and a flower hairclip which were super cheap. Don’t forget that fancy dress shops are great places to look, but if they sell the whole outfit (for example if you want to dress up as a pirate) it can be quite pricey, so again, don’t be afraid to mix things up a bit if it means getting the cheaper deal.

I took a few bottles of nail vanish with me from my vast collection at home, and I went for bright red nails, because it was something summery in October.

And there we go! If you’re starting university, or you’re just looking for a bargain, these are just some ideas to get you started. Remember to buy things that you’d wear again, otherwise it would be a bit of a waste of money. Plus, because I’m going as Lilo, it means that if there is a Hawaiian/Hula themed party in the future, I can just use the outfit again.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

