university

University Update!


Hey guys!

Yet again, I am seriously sorry for the lack of posts recently. Everything’s still a little bit crazy at the moment, but I really hope things will start to become clearer in the next couple of weeks, so that should mean more posts! Yay!

So for those of you who haven’t been reading my blog posts for the last month, I am at University now, and I am in temporary accommodation while I’m trying to sort out something long-term, which has proven to be far more difficult than I thought. I went to look at a house today to lodge in for the year, but it wasn’t really what I was looking for, even though it is super close to the university. It kinda sucked but I want to be somewhere that I’m going to be happy in, so the search continues.

Last night I went to a Karaoke Event on campus, and I met up with a couple of friends (who I didn’t know would be there) and it was a great night. I didn’t get up and sing, because I have a really bad cough and I’d rather not make everyone go deaf with my singing, so I just sat and watched, and occasionally joined in with the big numbers that everyone knew. I then went back to my friend’s flat for a bit- well, it was intended to be for a bit, but I left at about ten to midnight! The karaoke ended at 11pm. So… yeah… girls talk a lot, so it’s not really that surprising.

Tomorrow I’m going to a thing called “Detention”, which will have alternative music (Muse, Blink 182, Foo Fighters, All American Rejects, Fall Out Boy, and many more) which I’m looking forward to, because they’ll be playing songs I actually know for once! Not that I don’t know any pop songs, but these are songs and bands I really love so it should be good.

The other reason why I’m looking forward to tomorrow is because I joined the Ultimate Frisbee Club last week, and we went to the pub afterwards and some of the guys there said they’re also going to Detention so I will know some people, rather than turning up on my own like the loser I am. But going back to Ultimate Frisbee, I never realised how much like Netball it is. You’re not allowed to move when you have the Frisbee, and you have to mark other players- it’s basically netball with out the ball… or the net…

What else have I been doing… I have started reading Crown of Midnight, the second book in Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series, and if you haven’t read Throne of Glass, what are you still doing here? They’re so good. I also read The Assassin’s Blade before Crown of Midnight, and there are so many things that make so much more sense in the second book of the series. I’m going to write specifically about things I have learnt from Crown of Midnight, so if you don’t want any spoilers, go to the next paragraph! Okay, so I hate love triangles, because they just get me really frustrated and I remember reading Throne of Glass, and Celaena gets with Dorian rather than Chaol and I’m on Team Chaol and I got really annoyed with Celaena for doing that but NOW OMG she’s chosen the right guy and I’m really happy and my fangirl heart is going to explode in a minute. I haven’t finished the book yet, I’m at the bit when Chaol and Celaena have… you know… done it, and Dorian is trying to find answers about the magical thing and he’s about to go to the creepy witch. So we can all fangirl together up to that point but if you ruin anything for me… I will get very annoyed, very quickly.

Okay and we’re back. So what else have I been up to… My friend’s flatmate is an amazing baker, and she has introduced me to Snickerdoodles, and they are literally heaven. I’m not even joking, they’re probably the best thing I’ve tasted ever and they’re just so good and *drools*. They’re so addictive, so let’s fangirl about how good snickerdoodles are in the comments. If you haven’t had snickerdoodles before, you are seriously missing out. Go and find a recipe online and bake those beauties because you won’t regret it. Trust me.

Talking about baking, I’ve started watching Bake Off! I don’t normally watch it religiously, but I’ve watched the last three or four episodes every week and I’ve come to the conclusion that I would never go on Bake Off, not because I don’t like baking or that I can’t bake, but simply because of the amount of pressure you’re under. You have a time limit, and you also have to make something to perfection and I am not a perfectionist, at all. (Depending on the situation.) So if I was on Bake Off, I would probably skim read the recipe and miss out important details and then just make it up to be something completely different, and when Paul and Mary come over to look at my “final piece” I would say that it was my own interpretation. And they’d say “well it’s not what we’re looking for.” and I’d start crying in the corner. I wouldn’t actually do that, but… that’s why I wouldn’t go on Bake Off.

This post has really taken a turn for the worst. I apologise, this was not what I was intending to write about… I ramble. You should know that by now.

Downton Abbey is back, and I love it so much, and I thought the first episode was okay… but I’m still waiting for the drama to really come in. I want everything to be chaotic like Downton normally is and I’m just getting excited about certain things (Like the Carson/Hughes wedding eeeeekk!!) It makes me sad that this is the last season, but at the same time I think there’s only a certain amount that Julian Fellowes can really do with the show, so I just hope that it will have a good, solid ending. #

Doctor Who is back, and I’ve missed the last two episodes, so don’t even mention it. I know. It’s shocking that I call myself a Whovian, but I will get on it as soon as possible!

Now there are 101 different things I want to talk about, but it’s nearly 2:30pm and I haven’t had lunch yet, so I will leave you with that. Again, I am sorry about the lack of posts, but you’re probably going to have to put up with Update posts for the next few days/weeks. Make sure you follow me on Twitter for any other updates, because I’m almost always on Twitter, but otherwise, I will see you all soon.

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “University Update!”

  1. Oh wow I read ‘it’s nearly 2:30 AM and I haven’t had lunch yet’ and I was like: ‘lunch?? In the middle of the night??’ 😂😂😂
    Anyway glad you’re having fun! I hope you find a good house soon though. It is definitely important that you’re happy there, since you have to live there for such a long time!
    Also I had never heard of snickerdoodles before and then I googled them and *drools*
    Oh and don’t worry, I call myself a Whovian and haven’t seen the last two episodes yet either. In fact, I haven’t even seen last season’s finale and the Christmas episode yet *hides* I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHY. I JUST DIDN’T

    1. Hahaha it’s okay! I say how much I love Downton Abbey, but I still haven’t seen the Christmas episode when *spoiler alert* Mary and Matthew get engaged. Apart from that one I’ve see every single episode!

Leave a Reply

