advice

We Are a Community


Hey guys!

There are a few of you who follow my blog who are part of a twitter chat, called “The Blog Squad”. One of my greatest achievements was coming up with that name, but, you know… I’m not trying to brag or anything…

That’s really not the point, Janet.

Something happened on Twitter the night before last, which I’m not going to go into, but it really brought the group together. It made me realize that I really am part ofΒ a blogging community. We read each others posts, we comment and like and share, because we are genuinely interested in what each other has to say, and the other night taught me that we are also there for each other.

I don’t personally know any of these people on the Twitter chat, but I know that I can go and talk to them if I had to. People sometimes say being behind a screen can mean that you are more confident in spreading negativity, because you are anonymous, but the opposite of that also applies. At least, I think it does. I can be more confident in giving advice to people who don’t know me, because they may not have experienced situations that I’ve been in, whereas if I was giving advice to my friends, it might not help them so much. This is all hypothetical, but still.

The point is that I am so grateful to be a part of such a caring community, and that we have been brought together. I like to think I have done my bit to help others through my blog, and that’s what really keeps me going. A lot of my viewers are a few years younger than me, so I can give them advice on things such as school and exams, because I’ve been through it already. The same applies to blogs I follow- some of them are older than me, and they often give amazing advice on life. Things like job interviews, and university struggles and relationship goals.

I try to keep my blog as positive as I can, and I don’t know if that would have happened if it weren’t for the blogs I follow, and those who follow me. Being in this community means we can look out for each other when times get tough. Sometimes I find it easier to ask “The Blog Squad” what they thinkΒ of something, simply because these are people from all around the world, and they could give me alternate advice than people I have grown up with. Obviously it all depends on the situation I’m in, but still.

If you’re not sure if you want to start a blog or not, I would just say to go for it. If you make a WordPress account, then you can become part of the same community I’m in, and I guarantee you’ll love it. I certainly do!

-The Storyteller

5 thoughts on “We Are a Community”

  1. I’m not part of the Twitter group you are talking about but I do feel the same way about the WordPress blogs that I follow and that follow me. I feel so loved and just surrounded by positive vibes and awesome people. Just wanted to say that, I love reading your posts and seeing your blog pop up on my news feed!

Leave a Reply

