books

Summer Book List


Hey guys!

As it is the last day of August, and very nearly the end of summer, I thought I’d talk to you about the books I managed to read over the summer. Back in June I wrote this post about all the books I wanted to read after my exams. I haven’t read all of the books on this list, mainly because I bought loads of other books that I also wanted to read, so there are still a few books on my bookshelf that remain unread. Anyway, let’s get on with it!

1- Time Riders: The Infinity Cage, by Alex Scarrow
This book was one I started reading a while ago, but because of exams, I only finished it this summer. The Infinity Cage is the last book in the Time Riders series, and as much as I loved the plot, there’s a part of me that was a bit disappointed with the ending. However, I think Scarrow did a really good job rounding everything up, because whilst I was reading the series, I often wondered how it was all going to tie together, because a lot of the ideas are quite complex.

2- The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon
I really liked the concept of The Bone Season, but the only thing I didn’t like was that there was a big character change at the end, and I think it was quite unnecessary. The book as a whole was fast paced, there was so much detail, and I really liked the characters. Even though I wasn’t a big fan of the ending, the actual storyline of The Bone Season had me gripped enough to want to read the second book in the series, The Mime Order.

3- The Mime Order, by Samantha Shannon
I haven’t finished the sequel to The Bone Season yet, but the 300 pages I’ve read so far have been so good. I think I prefer it to The Bone Season, because it’s set in London, and the reader gets to know Paige’s life before entering Sheol 1. We learn about the members of the Seven Dials, and more about the criminal world of London in 2059. I really like where this is going so far! As I haven’t finished reading it, there’s not too much else I can say about The Mime Order!

4- The Miniaturist, by Jessie Burton
I wrote a review about The Miniaturist, but to sum it up here, I liked the idea of the book, but I was disappointed. I think it could have been so much better, and the thing that really annoyed me was that we never actually meet the miniaturist. The reader gets to know about the miniaturist, but as a character they are never revealed. There was so much going on in this book, some parts were quite shocking, and other parts I found were quite… predictable.

5- Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas
I have heard so much about this series, and I finally got around to reading it over the summer. Throne of Glass is the first in Sarah J. Maas’s fantasy series about Celaena Sardothien (sorry if I spelt it wrong!), an assassin who, in order to gain her freedom, must become the King’s Champion. For the first novel in a series, I thought Throne of Glass was so, so good, as we get to know about most of the characters, yet there is also a sense of mystery behind some of them, which I can only imagine will be revealed in later books. I have only read the first book, but I am aware that the newest one is coming out tomorrow! So I definitely have some catching up to do. The only bad thing I have to say about Throne of Glass was that some parts were a bit predictable. Apart from that, I thought it was a great YA book, and I certainly recommend it to those interested in the YA/fantasy genre.

6- All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr
All The Light We Cannot See is a historical fiction book set in World War 2, and follows the lives of two characters: Marie Laure, a blind French girl, and Werner, a young German boy. I think that’s all you really need to know before reading this book. I’m going to be honest, I don’t think it was my favourite book, but there was something about it that kept me intrigued, and I wanted to know what happened to these two very different characters. I love reading historical fiction, particularly when it’s set in World War 2, because there’s usually a sense of danger and suspense. If historical fiction is your thing, I would recommend this book, but it’s about 500 pages long! So if you do read it, make sure you have enough time!

7- The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion
I loved The Rosie Project. It’s so funny. I loved the characters, even though some of them got quite annoying at some points. But that didn’t put me off. The book follows the story of Don Tillman, who is looking for a wife. So, he comes up with The Wife Project, and eventually Rosie enters his life. Rosie wants to find her real father, and Don agrees to help her- which then leads to mayhem. Simsion initially wrote this story as a script, but then changed it to a book, and when you read it, you can clearly visualise that it could have been a script. I can imagine it being a film, even. There are so many jokes in this book, and one of my favourites is the following (no, it’s not a spoiler, don’t worry): “the difference between a Vegan and a Vegetarian is that a Vegan will tell you in the first ten minutes.”

8- The Devil Wears Prada, by Lauren Weisberger
I’ve seen the movie adaption of this book so many times, and I think I preferred the film, to be really honest, even though the film is quite different to the book. The Devil Wears Prada is set in New York City, and is about Andrea, a young girl who gets a job “a million girls would die for”- that is, working as an assistant to a powerful fashion magazine editor, Miranda Priestly. A lot of the scenarios Andrea finds herself in are absolutely absurd, yet hilarious. On the other hand, there were parts when I found myself at the end of the page, and realizing I hadn’t taken any of it in. It may be because I haven’t got the biggest interest in fashion, but I don’t know if that’s something that should really matter… I don’t know. It was entertaining, but not quite my thing.

9- The Shock of the Fall, by Nathan Filer
The last book I read (not including The Mime Order, which I haven’t finished yet) was The Shock of the Fall. In this book, Filer explores the world of a young man with schizophrenia, and how he comes to terms with his brother’s death. The Shock of the Fall is one of those books that doesn’t reveal everything at once. You are introduced to some characters early on, but only know how they have impacted Matt’s life as the story progresses. At first, I wasn’t sure if I liked this book, because it felt a bit all over the place, but as it went on, you understand it more, and I really did end up enjoying it. I seriously think it’s worth reading!

So those are the 9 books I read this summer. Have you read any of the above? What did you think of them? Make sure to tell me in the comments!
-The Storyteller

7 thoughts on “Summer Book List”

    1. You so should! I don’t really know which one to recommend the most… I’m thinking Throne of Glass if fantasy is your thing, or The Rosie Project if you like contemporary… there’s so many good books out there, it’s hard to know where to start 😉

Leave a Reply

