opinion

Reasons Why I’m Not a Vegan


Hey guys!

This is probably one of the most random posts I’ll ever write, but if you read my Dragon’s Loyalty Award post from the other day, I mentioned that it is unlikely that I will ever become a vegan. So I decided I’d write a post about the reasons why I’ve made this decision. I’d just like to say that this isn’t a “vegan-bashing” post! If you’re a vegan and you’re reading this (which I’m assuming you are), this has nothing to do with your choice of being a vegan. It’s simply a post about why I am not one.

Choices. We are bound to make a choice at some point during the day, whether it’s a what should I eat for lunch? or a more serious what am I going to do if I don’t get the grades I need? You get me? Personally, the choices we make about our diets are hugely important, but not a lot of people realize just how important. I am a meat eater, but I hate going to places like McDonald’s or KFC because they’re just so… greasy. It puts me off, and what’s worse is that the meat they use has probably come from a battery farm somewhere in the middle of Central America. I can honestly see why this sort of thing will put people off eating meat permanently, but it just frustrates me when people who happen to be vegan, or vegetarian get angry at someone who eats meat, but is against battery farming. I probably sound like a massive hypocrite.

The vegans I know have told me that being vegan is “the healthy way”, but I just find that a little bit ridiculous. It’s not always about what you eat, but how much of it you are eating. Eating a lot of red meat is bad for you. Eating too much protein is bad for you. But if you don’t have enough of these things, it is also bad for you. It’s the same with fat and sugar: too much is unhealthy, but it’s important that it is a part of your diet, because your body needs it. So I won’t become a vegan, because I don’t want to cut out a great big chunk of food from my diet, just because according to some people, it’s “healthy”.

I have a friend who physically cannot become a vegan. And I don’t think she can be a vegetarian either. Why? Because she has a severe nut allergy, which means she can’t eat a lot of the vegetarian or vegan substitutes. Being a vegan is only possible for a few people- in the Western world, we are lucky enough to be allowed this privilege of choosing our diet. But in other, poorer countries, their choice is somewhat limited. So again, when I hear vegans saying that “everyone should become vegan”, it annoys me so much, because not everyone can. 

It seems that the reason why I don’t want to be a vegan is because of the attitudes of a lot of vegans. I know not all of them try and force others to change their diet, but it’s the ones who do that really bug me. I read someone’s post recently which started out about the killing of Cecil the Lion, (which I find absolutely disgusting, by the way) and they then went on to talk about how killing chickens, cows and pigs is no different than killing this amazing creature. I just want to point out that farm animals are bred to be killed. It sucks, but people do in fact need meat. We have canine teeth to prove that one. If any of you watched “The Last Leg” on Channel 4 when John Cleese was on, he said that it’s okay to kill farm animals to eat because they are stupid, and they should be eliminated as fast as possible or something, whereas lions are clever animals and the minute someone goes and kills a Lion… well. That’s not cool.

I’m not really sure where that was going. I wasn’t planning on talking about Cecil the Lion in this post… oops.

Anyway. So why aren’t I a vegan? Well, at the end of the day it’s my choice, and I don’t think that it’s something that should be forced on others. I know a couple of vegans, one of which is a friend of mine, and whenever I meet someone who is a vegan I just feel like there is some form of judgement going on when I eat something they don’t think should be eaten. Does that make any sense?

Oh, and one other thing. Vegans don’t eat honey!? Like… what the heck? I understand why vegans don’t eat cheese or have milk… but honey? Freaking… honey??? Bees are supposed to make honey! It’s not harming the animal if people eat honey. (I don’t know if you could tell, but I am a honey addict.)

As I said, this wasn’t supposed to target all vegans around the world, it is simply my opinion on the whole thing. And it is my choice on what I eat.

-The Storyteller

15 thoughts on “Reasons Why I’m Not a Vegan”

  1. Hi! so I am a vegan… obviously by my profile name 😉 , and I just wanted to address a few things in this blog.. I am not trying to argue with you or try to convert you… I just feel like some of the things you are saying here are a little confusing for me and just wanted to respond as a vegan 🙂 I respect your choices but I used to think the same and I wish someone had talked to me about a few of these things!

    first of all a small fact about protein… I know you didn’t specifically talk about this… but it is something that opened my eyes to what we actually need to survive!.The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that men and women obtain 5% of their calories as protein. This would mean 38 grams of protein for a man burning 3000 calories a day and 29 grams for a woman using 2300 calories a day. This quantity of protein is impossible to avoid when daily calorie needs are met by unrefined starches and vegetables…

    Now about moderation, for me as a vegan it is absolutely unnecessary to kill another creature to survive… I simply don’t need it and I am not desperate enough on a daily basis to do so, so I avoid it… yes factory farming is evil but there is no Humane way to kill an animal.

    Secondly about Cecil the lion… I have seen a lot of posts about this in the last few weeks and how terrible this is from a lot of non vegans, and I find it surprising that we value the life of a lion more than a cow or a pig… ( which are extremely smart animals btw) you said it yourself.. these animals are bred to be killed… well what kind of quality of life is that for these animals? they are miserable and stressed their entire lives… why don’t we eat dogs while we are at it… what is the difference? the only difference is our attitude towards them.
    I know I am jumping all over the place here… but there is so much I want to say and I don’t want to write too much…

    last point, I have a serious Peanut allergy and my husband is allergic to nuts… and we are vegan. even without being allergic to nuts we do not ever find the need to have them because we are high carb low fat vegans, there is plenty to eat vegetables, fruits, rice beans.. the possibilities are endless so honestly the thought has never crossed our minds that we cannot be vegan because of these allergies 🙂

    about Bees… well I’ll let you decide from yourself:

    thanks for reading

    1. I appreciate your opinion! When I was writing it I was just trying to make sense of my thoughts on the subject, which may have been why it seemed a bit all over the place! I understand that there is no humane way to kill any animal but it’s what cave men and other tribes did to survive… Animals kill other animals to survive… It’s what happens.
      (I feel like the way I’m saying this in my head sounds different to how it may be read and I’m trying really hard to not sound rude or anything!)

      1. I don’t think you sound rude 🙂 we are just having a conversation, I used to think about cave men a lot and that was honestly my biggest reason not to be vegan.. but it was put into perspective for me that they key word for cave men was survival… and with out technology and resources and ability to grow crops I don’t think any of us in the modern world need to survive off of meat… and well I realized a long time ago that I am not able or willing to kill an animal myself to eat it and so I did not want to pay someone else to do something I would never do myself… you know? and more on that.. there are so many things humans used to do that are considered horrid today ( ex: slavry, treatment of women) and so think we need to think forward and not back to what we used to do…
        as far as animals killing other animals, again we are so much more intelligent and there is so much literature out there about our ability to digest and eat meat properly simply because our human stomachs are not meant to digest these things, so the teeth while may be to some an evidence… they are not enough evidence personally for me, when there is so much more evidence against us needing and being able to digest meat propertly. anyway… I am not trying to write a book here.. but this is just stuff I have learnt and it is why I am vegan 🙂

      2. Well you are definitely very convincing! Haha 😄 I definitely respect your reasons for becoming a vegan. I just don’t think it’s something. I’d be able to do… I think I’d be worried about not eating enough food. I know someone who is vegan who used to be vegetarian and in the last year or so they’ve been vegan they have lost so much weight… That’s part of what puts me off the whole thing, seeing them become so skinny. But I know there are healthier ways of going about it 🙂

      3. yeah, I think every vegan is different, there are definitely a lot of unhealthy vegans out there 🙂 I am plant based and high carb and I am pretty healthy, when I first went vegan though I was a little confused and didn’t eat enough, so its def normal… anyway, I wish you a great and happy life 🙂 and thanks for talking

  2. Hi, I’m a vegan and I’m not trying to convert you or argue with you put I just want to point out a few things in this post 😊 many controlled studies have actually shown that even small amounts of animal products in a human diet has a huge effect on diabetes, heart disease, cancer etc. http://www.nutritionfacts.org
    Also, you don’t have to eat nuts or ‘vegan replacement food’ to be a vegan or to be healthy😊 infact, I avoid processed vegan replacement foods as much as possible because I see no need to eat them for nutritional benefits.
    I understand where your coming from because not long ago, I had the exact same views… I decided one day that I’d educate myself on veganism and now I have the complete opposite opinion.
    In the state that our planet is in at the moment I try my best to encourage people to reconsider some of their eating habits, and I believe that’s why many vegans come across as ‘pushy’.
    Anyway, no hate, just thought I’d add a few notes to this😊 thanks.

    1. Thanks for your comment! I mean, staying healthy is the most important thing. It’s just in my opinion, some meat isn’t that bad. I don’t eat meat every single day of the week, because I know too much is bad for you but I don’t think I could fully convert to becoming a vegan! 🙂 my belief is if you eat things in moderation then that should be enough to keep you healthy and happy!

      1. Great to hear other people interested in their health! (I think nowadays many people have forgotten the importance of health) When I hear these doctors recommending plant-based diet for optimal health in lectures, they often bring up their belief that ‘moderation will actually give you just moderate results’. And since trying it myself, I agree. Because you believe that staying healthy is important, I really hope you might look into the health benefits of eliminating animal products from the human diet. It honestly changed my life😊 (But again, not trying to come across as pushy or attempting to convert you!) Just my thoughts, I suppose 😊

  3. This was an interesting post to read! I am not vegan but I am a veggie! One thing that definitely persuaded me to stop eating meat was in fact battery farming and fast food (I agree with you, KFC and McDonalds are absolutely gross I don’t know how people can eat such things!) but before I turned veggie I was a meat eater who hated battery farming so I definitely understand where you’re coming from! The thing I was most worried about was getting enough protein, and I have been a veggie for 8 months now and I have not had a single problem with getting enough protein or other nutrients in fact! I actually believe I have become more healthy by becoming veggie because I pay more attention to what I eat! I guess it is all down to personal preference, because I just did not feel comfortable with the fact that I was eating something that was killed just so I could use its nutrition when I could get the nutrition from other food, but other people may think differently about it! -M xo

  4. In regards to your nut alleged friend, insect protein is something that is new to American food culture but I am sure…100% that this a trend that will catch on in the near future. I am not a vegan, but I will say 85-90% of my diet is vegetarian. I don’t like eating too much meat because it slows down my digestion and it makes me feel lethargic. I do however enjoy meat every now again when I have an intense craving. Also, I think that honey is popular sweetener that due to its popularity might actually benefit bees in the long run. I mean they have been talking about how bees are dying at staggering rates, but maybe the need for the honey might help convince people of the importance of bees to our ecological system, just my thoughts! Great post! I respect anyone’s choice to eat what ever they want.

  5. Hmm… I’m not a vegan, but I find issue with a few things you said. You said it’s only possible for a few people in the Western world to become vegan- what? why? That just isn’t true. Also, you said that vegans say their way is “the healthy way,” and it is pretty healthy. That statement in no way implies that other ways are not healthy as well.

    1. What I meant by the first point was that it’s possible for people in western countries to become vegan, rather than those who can’t because in a lot of poorer countries it’s not possible for them. And when I said the “healthy way” that’s just from what I’ve heard from a lot of vegans online or in person. Sorry for any confusion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

