awards

Blogger Recognition Award


Hey guys!

So here is the final award that Aiden nominated me, which is the Blogger Recognition Award! It feels like I’ve come to the end of some sort of “Blog Award Season”, with the amount of awards I’ve had to catch up on recently!

bloggerrec_award

So let’s get started with the rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog
  • Select and Nominate 15 other bloggers (I’ll just see how far I get…)
  • Briefly explain the origins of your blog
  • Give advice to new bloggers
  • Link back to the original post for the award

The Origins of “The Storyteller”.

Once upon a time, in a land far away, lived an ordinary girl, who liked to write. She knew her friends had blogs, but the thought never occurred to her that she should start her own. After some encouragement from these friends, she made an account on the mysterious “WordPress”, but couldn’t think of a title. So, she went with the first thing that popped in her head, and thus “janetisawesomerthanyou” was born. But she didn’t like her blog that much, and decided it was because blogging wasn’t for her. So she stopped blogging for a few months. Then she decided to try it again, but change the layout and the name, so blog attempt number two had begun. This time, her blog was called “South African Nutter”. SAN took off to a great start, with regular posts, and a small audience began to grow. But eventually, the girl felt she needed another change, so in January 2014, “South African Nutter” became “The Storyteller”.

The end.

The Storyteller’s Tips for New Bloggers:

You shouldn’t start a blog just for the likes, comments or followers. It’s hugely unlikely that you’re going to get 100 likes on your first post, or even your 100th post (I’m nearly on my 500th post and I’ve never gotten over 30 likes on any post!) so as long as you understand that, then you should be okay.

Blogging can be difficult, but persevere. People will find your blog eventually. But don’t just bombard other bloggers with requests for them to follow your blog. People will follow your blog if they like what you have to say. I’m not saying they won’t follow you if you ask them to, but just be nice about it.

If you are suffering from Writer’s Block, and you feel under pressure to get a post up, then don’t let the stress get to you. You are allowed to have breaks. After all, it is your blog, and you are the one to choose when you want to write a post.

Schedules aren’t always necessary. Some bloggers write every Tuesday and Friday, for example, with the odd random post somewhere in between. This may work for them, but it doesn’t mean you have to stick to a schedule if you don’t want to. I don’t have a set schedule (apart from my Flashback Friday series) because I like having the liberty to write whenever I like. Most of the time it’s just to get things of my mind, so feel free to do that as well!

And finally, you should experiment with the types of posts you want to write. You don’t have to limit yourself straight away to a certain style. Your first few posts should be your way of finding a comfortable way to write to your audience, and trust me- you’ll get there.

I am now going to nominate:

The Joe James Experience

Nothing Was Said

Peak Perspective

Travelling Omnominvore

Miserable and Magical

A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts

Words on a Whim

Okay, so that’s 7 bloggers rather than 15, but hey ho. Thanks again to Aiden for the nomination, and good luck to my own nominees!

-The Storyteller

7 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. Awww…thanks for the nom! I now have 3 awards to follow up on, so will see how I get along with this one. Totally agree with your comments about not blogging for likes, followers or to a strict schedule. I started to fall into that trap myself and began to resent my blog a little! I’ve been blogging less frequently now but more from the heart and enjoying it more 🙂

  2. A thousand thanks, Janet–aka, Ms. Awesome– for your super sweet nomination. I’m totally flattered. And I love the tips you’ve provided. Everything sane and organized and reasonable. Wish I was any of those things. o_O
    Still, lessons to live and learn by.
    Cheers!

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination 🙂 I’ve been away on a little adventure and just got a chance to read this but I’m so flattered to be on your list!

Leave a Reply

