Flashback

Flashback Friday #8


The One With My Favourite Books

Hey guys!

As you all know, I am an avid reader. I love books so much, that I even want my own library in my house when I finally “grow up”. So I thought that for today’s Flashback Friday, I would talk to you about some of my favourite childhood books. So, I thought I would make a list of all the books that have had some impact on me during my 18 years. I thought I’d lay it out in an order of age, so the first one will be from when I was youngest, and the last one will be the most recent. If that makes sense… Anyway, without any further ado, let’s get started!

  1. “The Owl who was Afraid of the Dark”, by Jill Tomlinson
    60490-ml-61448
    I loved this book for many reasons as a child, the main one was because owls were my favourite animal. I don’t really have a favourite animal anymore, but I still think owls are pretty cool. If I was a witch in Hogwarts, I would choose an owl as my pet. This children’s book is so sweet, and the illustrations are amazing, and I think it’s a great idea because it teaches kids not to be scared of the dark. (But let’s be honest, we all wake up in the middle of the night thinking we heard the cupboard door creek…)
  2. “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” by J.K. Rowling
    Harry01english
    Obviously, Harry Potter has to be on the list. I remember my mum reading the first Harry Potter book to us when we were little, but she was mainly reading it to my older brother because I remember me and my sister not really understanding it! It’s funny reading it now, because the writing is for a younger audience. I think I’ve read “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” the most out of all seven books, simply because the first book is almost always the best one. Having said that, I also love the third book, because it has werewolves in it.
  3. “The Palace of Laughter” by Jon Berkeley
    575523
    I remember first getting this book when I was on holiday in South Africa. I think I must have been about 8 or 9 at the time, which is scary because that means I’ve had this book for 10 years! I’m sure I’ve spoken about this book many times on my blog in the past, but the story is about Miles Wednesday, an orphan, who lives in a barrel on the top of a hill. One day, a strange circus comes to town, and eventually Miles has to go to the Palace of Laughter where, ironically, laughter and joy is strictly forbidden… This story is so funny, it’s full of adventure, and there is a strong theme of friendship throughout. I still love it today.
  4. “Twilight” by Stephenie Meyer
    250px-Twilightbook
    Yes, I know, I know, but at the time, I loved Twilight. I loved all the books, until I finished the last one and then about a week later (Okay, it might not have been one week) I just didn’t like them anymore. These were the first kind of teen books that I read, so it has had an impact on me, whether I like them now or not. My sister said that they were the books that got her reading, and I think it’s the same for a lot of young kids out there, who may not have been part of the Harry Potter generation. So well done, Stephenie Meyer!
  5. “Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief”, by Rick Riordan
    percyjackson_zps90ed8824
    Of course, Percy Jackson has to be on my list. It was my brother who initially introduced me to these books, and at first I wasn’t so sure, because I didn’t know much about Greek Gods, and I wasn’t really into it. Then I started reading “The Lightning Thief”, and I was absolutely hooked. My sister, who hated the idea even more than me, went to see the film and loved it, so she had to read the books as well. I now love Greek Mythology, thanks to Rick Riordan’s masterpiece, and it really teaches you a lot- not only about Mythology, but it teaches you that being different is okay, and that “normal” doesn’t really exist…
  6. “Time Riders” by Alex Scarrow
    6773432
    And finally, the one and only “Time Riders” by the beloved Alex Scarrow. I love this man. I love this book series. I love everything about it. And again, I have my brother to thank. I know I’ve gone on and on about “Time Riders” on my blog recently, especially because I’ve just finished the final book, but I seriously recommend this book mainly for the 12-15 age group. I think I started the first one when I was about 13, and although I’m probably considered “too old” for them now, I just feel that once you’ve started a series of books, you’re never too old to finish the series or to read them again.

So those are my favourite childhood books! I hope you enjoyed the list, and why not leave a comment about some of your favourite childhood books? Let’s start a discussion!

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Flashback Friday #8”

Leave a Reply

