Flashback

Flashback Friday #7


The one when I went to Wimbledon

Hey guys!

As Wimbledon has been on, I thought it was only fitting to write about the time when I went to Wimbledon. My mum used to play tennis with a club, and she managed to win tickets 4 times so she was able to take each member of the family to see Wimbledon once. First it was her and my dad, then it was my brother, then in Year 8 (I think) my sister went to Wimbledon and saw Roger Federer (!!!) and I went in Year 9, but I got to see Novak Djokovic, so… I’ll let you decide who got the better tickets!

The day was really good, weather-wise, and it was incredibly busy. It was nice that we already had tickets, so we didn’t have to queue up for hours to buy them like so many other people. There were a lot of things for younger kids to do so that they didn’t get bored just sitting and watching a tennis match that could last over two hours! Of course, we also went to get strawberries and cream, but here’s the weird thing… there was no queue. Queuing is one of the most British things, along with Wimbledon and strawberries and cream, so I was a little confused at first. Anyway, once we’d got the strawberries, the masses started to line up, so we clearly got there just in time.

As I said, I got to see Djokovic playing against Kevin Anderson from South Africa playing, and although he didn’t win, there was a lot of encouragement from the crowd. At one point, someone called something out, which I can’t remember off the top of my head, but everyone laughed. I’m surprised I didn’t get sunburnt, because I have really sensitive skin, and I just burn. I don’t tan, I either get freckles, or I go red. There is no in between.

If you ever get the chance to get tickets to Wimbledon, I would definitely recommend going. The tickets can be pricey, but I had a really great day out and it was definitely worth going.

-The Storyteller

13 thoughts on “Flashback Friday #7”

    1. Thank you for your comment! If you ever get the chance to go I would definitely recommend it! I think it’s one of those British things that you have to experience at least once! 😀

  1. How amazing!!!! I’m reaaaally into tennis but I’d have to say that your sister probably got the better tickets :). Federer is a legend… even if Djokovic beat him this time :/.

    With that being said, I just wanted to tell you how much I love your blog! I’ve only just started my own blog so I haven’t seen many but I recently stumbled upon your blog and its probably one of my favorites!
    -Meghna

    1. Aw thank you so much! I’m on holiday at the moment but I will check out your blog as soon as I get back home! 😄 the tennis final this year was such a good game though. Djokovic and Federer are such amazing players.

Leave a Reply

