Music, reviews

“Cut The Cord” by Shinedown


Hey guys!

So my favourite band, Shinedown, released their new single and music video last week, so I thought I’d do a quick review-like-thing on it.

I became a fan of Shinedown around the time when their previous album came out, called “Amaryllis”. For me, this will always be one of my favourite albums by them, because it was the one that I discovered them with… if that makes sense… but anyway, Shinedown have been a band for a while, and although I don’t really listen to a lot of their old stuff regularly, I personally find that “Cut The Cord” has a similar sound to their older music.

In my opinion, the pre-chorus/chorus/chanting bits are the best parts of the song. The verses are okay but… I’m not sure… there’s something about them which doesn’t really grab my attention. On Facebook, Zach (the guitarist) has said how they’re a band who doesn’t want to put out the same record twice, which I totally understand. If I was in a band, I wouldn’t want to just release the same stuff all the time, because then it wouldn’t feel like any progress has been made. However, from an audience’s point of view, I also get why some people don’t like “Cut The Cord”, because it’sΒ so differentΒ from “Amaryllis” and “The Sound of Madness”. However, when the album comes out, and other singles come out, I’ll definitely give them a chance.

This is the first single that has been released in a few years, so I’m sure there will be more to come very soon! As for the video itself, I really like the simplicity of just having the band playing, and I like how it changes from black and white to colour every so often. I think this performance style is common with Shinedown, as you can find it in other videos including “Devour”, and “The Sound of Madness”.

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on ““Cut The Cord” by Shinedown”

  1. I’ve been a shinedown fan since the beginning and I must tell you that you will love their new material. It’s always fresh and innovative. Live is even better. Enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

