Flashback, humour

Flashback Friday #5


The Time I Face-planted onto a Trampoline…

Hey guys!

This is probably one of the more embarrassing Flashback Friday’s I’ve written so far. The title pretty much sums up what I’m about to tell you, so sit back, relax, and prepare to face the realization that you have subscribed to a blog written by an idiot.

So I’ve never had a trampoline. I’ve always wanted one, but my parents said that our garden was too small. When we moved to Devon, our garden was still “too small”, so it never happened. Whenever we went to a friend’s house where there was a trampoline, we would always go and play on it if the weather was good enough- I mean, I live in England, so it was always a bit risky!

Anyway, this one particular time was at some friends who live near London, and the five of us- me, my brother and sister, and our two friends- were sitting on the trampoline wondering what to do next. We’d done all the usual trampoline games and didn’t know what to do next, so my sister came up with the idea of doing a competition thing, and because she didn’t want to take part, she was going to be the one who came up with the tasks and would be the judge. We started by doing fairly typical things- forward rolls, flips, star jumps etc.- and then we found ourselves starting to run out of ideas.

My brother would always run and jump onto the trampoline whenever he got on it, so because we had no more ideas, my sister decided that would be the next challenge. I had never done this before, so I decided to go last and watch my brother and friend go first to see how the job was done. It seemed fairly simple- run, hands on side of trampoline, jump, land. Easy…

So I ran, put my hands on the side of the trampoline, and I can’t really remember what I did after that, but IĀ think I must have jumped at the same time as putting my hands out, because before I knew it my legs were up in the air, my hands still where I’d placed them, and then it seemed all of my body weight was on my face, which was being squashed onto the trampoline.

This was the day I lost all trust in my siblings, because they were of no help whatsoever. They were laughing so hard they couldn’t breathe, which in turn made me laugh, but I was starting to think I’d broken my nose so I didn’t find it quite so funny. Looking back on the situation, I find it hilarious, but at the time I was just trying not to cry too much! I’m surprised I didn’t even get a nosebleed…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

