opinion

An Atheist’s Opinion


Hey guys!

I don’t think I’ve really spoken much about my views on religion on my blog before. At least, not in great detail. As you can probably guess from the title, I’m an Atheist- I don’t believe there is a God or any other Deity of any kind. But that is just my opinion, and I wanted to explain why.

When I was younger I used to go to church. My parents wanted us to go to see if we enjoyed it or not, and because we didn’t, they didn’t keep us going. My mum isn’t particularly religious, and neither is my dad, but I think both of their families are Christian and because of that, I’ve grown up respecting other people’s views on religion. I think there’s this thing where people assume that because someone is an Atheist, they are going to be rude and obnoxious (that’s a good word… obnoxious…) but that’s just stupid. There are of course going to be people like that, but it isn’t because of what they believe in.

I have friends who are also Christian, and obviously I won’t be rude to them about going to church or anything. I choose my friends based on their personality rather than their background and I think everyone else should do the same. I don’t believe in a God because I’m one of those people who just thinks it’s unrealistic and there isn’t any proof. One could say the Bible is evidence, but that isn’t going to make me believe that God exists- it’s like saying wizards exist because “Harry Potter” says so. But again that is my personal opinion. I don’t want to make anyone angry with that, but if I can respect someone who is religious, I would expect them to respect me for being an Atheist.

Right, I’m off to try and finish the last 10 chapters of “The Bone Season” now. Thank you for reading.

-The Storyteller

8 thoughts on “An Atheist’s Opinion”

    1. I don’t really remember. I was quite young when I stopped going to church just because I didn’t enjoy it. I spent a lot of my childhood not really knowing if there was a God or not and now I just don’t believe there is one.

      1. Maybe. But no one in my immediate family is religious either so I don’t think I would have carried on going to Church anyway. But it was ultimately my choice not to go which I think is the most important thing.

      2. I’m the only one who is religious from a family of 8.
        The fact is that I have a genuine relationship with Jesus Christ.
        That makes all the difference to me.
        I have never really found a church that compares with the personal relationship I experience.

  1. Goon on you for sharing your views. It’s okay whatever your religious viewd might be, what actually matters is what kind of person you are, your interests, your personality 🙂

Leave a Reply

