advice, how to, humour

How To WordPress!


Hey guys!

Today I decided that I’d write a post for the new blogs out there, for the people who want to start a blog but don’t know where to start, or what to write about. So I’m basically writing a post about how to write a post… this’ll be fun!

  1. Choosing a Blog name
    Okay so if you take a look at my URL, it is different to my actual blog name. Why, you ask? Well, that’s because I set up a WordPress account when I was 13 and I couldn’t think of a better URL than “janetisawesomerthanyou”. My first blog had the same name, but I didn’t like it so I started a new one, called “South African Nutter”, which is the same blog you are reading now, except I changed the name again last January.
    The point is that when you decide on a name, you are allowed to change it if you don’t like it anymore. The only reason I’ve kept my URL the same is because I kind of still like it and also, I don’t know how to change it but shhhhh!
  2. What to write about
    I don’t have a particular theme. I’m not a “book blogger”, nor a “travel blogger”, nor anything else. I write what I want to write about, and that’s the most important thing. If you want to focus on a certain topic, then go for it! But don’t worry too much about not having enough ideas. You are very welcome to start out just talking about the weather in one post, and then in your next post you can talk about funny cat videos on YouTube, and in the post after that you can go through your latest Primark haul. It’s completely up to you!
  3. Gaining Followers
    If you’ve just started a blog, remember this one thing: followers don’t just come out of nowhere. Try and make your posts unique to you, and make your personality shine through in the way you write.
    If you have friends who are interested in writing, then encourage them to start a blog and you can follow each other. That way, you can make a start. On the WordPress Reader, there is a list of tags where you can search for blogs who have written about a certain theme, so you can always start by searching through that and then follow other blogs. Quite often they’ll follow you back, so don’t be afraid to follow, comment and like their post. They may always do the same thing in return, and may even give you some tips! But don’t be too optimistic: it took me years to get to 100 subscribers. Just remember to stay positive, and to persevere.
  4. Finding Inspiration
    This one’s slightly more difficult, because we’re all different. Personally, I’m inspired to write by anything and everything. My blog doesn’t exactly have a “purpose”, in my opinion. It’s just here for my thoughts and rants about my life. If you are inspired by someone else’s post, however, make sure to not copy their idea completely, because if that person notices… well, they probably won’t be very happy about it, especially if you haven’t credited them for the idea in the first place!
    As long as you write about things you like, then people will pick up on that interest and that passion, and will probably end up commenting and liking your post! *Celebrates*
  5. The Dreaded First Post
    And finally, the one we’ve all been waiting for… it’s now time to discuss the introductory post. This post means everything. It’s the make or break of your blogging career. If you get this wrong… Nah, I’m just kidding.
    Writing your first post will most likely be the one you cringe at the most when you look back at it a year later. But that’s okay. It’s the first post for you to get an idea about what your writing style is. As I said earlier, it’s okay to change it if the style doesn’t suit you. It’ll come naturally. Just as long as you keep going and don’t give up after the first try!

So those are my five pointers on How to WordPress! Hopefully this was of some help, and if not… I’m sorry I wasted your time… but seriously. If you are new to the WordPress community, then welcome! And good luck…

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “How To WordPress!”

Leave a Reply

