Flashback

Flashback Friday #3


Mt First Concert…

Hey guys!

As I’m sure you know, I have been to a number of gigs- Halestorm, Muse (twice), 30 Seconds to Mars, Kasabian, Alter Bridge, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Paloma Faith- just to name a few!

But today I wanted to talk about my very first concert. At the time, James Morrison was my sister’s favourite singer, and when we found out he was coming to perform just minutes down our road, we begged our mum to buy tickets. We went with three friends of ours, and because it was a local gig there were loads of other people I knew from school.

I think I was about 13 at the time, and I remember we weren’t quite at the barrier, but we were fairly close to the stage. And when James Morrison walked out on stage, it was the first time I’d ever seen a celebrity in the flesh and I was just thinking about how weird it was that we were a few metres away from him.

To be really honest, I can’t remember all the songs he played. But who does? I end up forgetting loads of the songs artists play when I see them because the show usually lasts a good 2 hours or more, if you’re including the supporting acts. But I do remember he played “Broken Strings”, which was originally featuring Nelly Furtado and when they started playing the introduction I was like “Oh my God, is she here?” Just to clarify, I’m not a big Nelly fan! But she wasn’t there, and one of the backing singers was singing her part. She was pretty good at it too!

My sister bought a t-shirt from one of the stalls and I’m not sure if she still has it, but it certainly lasted a long time. I think I got a poster. I don’t have it anymore because when we built onto our house, I didn’t have to share a room with my sister anymore and she wanted it. But I think she’s thrown it out now!

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “Flashback Friday #3”

Leave a Reply

