Flashback, Swimming

Flashback Friday #2


My First Swimming Lesson

Hey guys!

Welcome to my second installment in the Flashback Friday series! (Yaaaay, I remembered!) As I’m sure you all know, I am a keen swimmer- I mean, it’s there at the top of my blog page. I don’t remember when I first learnt how to swim, but I know I’ve always enjoyed it. There’s a photo of me after my first bath smiling at the camera in a pink towel, so I think that’s where it started. My addiction to being under water started from very early on.

According to my mother, my first actual swimming lesson was when I was about four years old, with my sister, and our swimming teacher was called Dave. I still remember Dave, but I think the image I have of him in my head is nothing to what he actually looked like. I mean, this was all over ten years ago, and now I’m waffling. Anyway, at the pool where I learnt to swim properly, there were these wide steps that were curved to fit the corner. So me and my sister walked down the steps, until the water was up to our knees, waists, shoulders, chins, ears… and then all of a sudden we had to be hauled out of the water by Dave because apparently, we didn’t know where to stop.

As I spent the first year and a half of my life in South Africa, there were lots of opportunities for me to go swimming in my friends and neighbour’s swimming pools. Another story from my mum is that there was this one time when we were at a friend’s house, and the parents were inside drinking tea or something, and my brother was playing outside with his friend. I was also outside, and my mum realised that it was getting a bit too quiet, so she found me sitting on the pool cover, and I guess it must have been slowly sinking because I think she also had to get me out of the pool.

The final story I have for you, is very quick and quite amusing. So by now you must be aware of the type of toddler I was when it came to water. Bath time must have been hilarious. My mum told me that she would have to watch me at all times because I would take any opportunity to put my head under water. Which, you know, is all fine when you actually know how to get back up again. So one time, my mum literally turned around to get something (like a towel or some soap… I don’t know the details) and the second she turned back to me, I was under the water.

But that clearly didn’t put me off swimming, as I’m still doing it now, 5 days a week! I love swimming so much, and I’m sure there will be some more swimming related posts to come.

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “Flashback Friday #2”

  1. REALLY enjoyed this Flashback Friday post! 👏 I haven’t gone swimming in about a year or two, so hopefully I get to this summer! 🏊 😊💕

  2. Can I just say that I adore your blog! You post so many great things and I’ve just had a big read and gone back ages ahah! Keep it up (: x

Leave a Reply

