rants, Stories

Life Without Internet


Hey guys!

*When I was away in Bordeaux, we had a few days without internet in our residence, which was frustrating but I thought we could manage. I noticed, however, that a lot of people have become very reliant on the internet. So, on one of our more quiet evenings, I took to Microsoft Word to write about this “addiction”. This is what I came up with. It’s intended to be in a story style!*

It’s been about 24 hours. Mum seems to be pretty desperate. She went to the neighbour’s to try and steal some of their internet. It worked for a bit but she didn’t really have enough to go on. It’s funny that. These days it’s the older generation who keeps saying young people need to “get out more” and to “stop wasting time on gadgets”. When we were at the airport, it was both my parents on their “gadgets”, and almost completely blanked me when I wanted a conversation. They probably just didn’t hear me, but I guess that without these distractions then we would have been in a deep conversation for 40 minutes rather than Liking things we’d posted on Facebook. We could have discussed these things rather than saying “Oh, did you see the thing Molly’s mum’s sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s cat did the other day? It’s gone viral on YouTube!”

It’s crazy, and I know I sound like the older generation when I rant on about this, but why is it that the technological age has taken over our lives entirely? I keep asking myself if we could actually live without the internet. Right now, the internet is down and I’m getting restless because I want to know who liked my recent blog posts, if I have any new followers, if there I any important comments or emails I need to get back to. What if one of my colleagues has asked me to cover one of their shifts over Facebook, but I won’t be able to get back to them until Thursday afternoon and then what will they think of me? I mean, I’m writing this post on Microsoft Word for God’s sake, because I’ve been away from writing for far too long in my opinion, so I have to let out what I’m thinking somehow, and it’s only been about 24 hours.

I don’t really want to think about what the future holds for us. We are addicted to technology, and the question on everyone’s lips, is “What’s the next new thing going to be?” even if we won’t admit it. It would be interesting to see who else could go for 24 hours without internet. I’ve done a week without, and I was perfectly okay with it. Catching up on 5 days’ worth of notifications and other things, however, wasn’t very fun.

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Life Without Internet”

  1. GREAT post! 👏👏👏 Technology really has become a big part of our lives. That’s why I’m trying to spend less time on the internet this summer! I plan on reading books, going to the park more & talking to my friends in person! 😊 Hopefully everyone can realize that looking at screens all day isn’t better the communicating with people in person! 💯

Leave a Reply

