Flashback

Flashback Friday #1


Weird Childish Thoughts…

Hey guys!

So this is my very first Flashback Friday post in this series that I hope will continue into the future. I’ve actually planned some of the ideas already, and have come to about thirty initial thoughts so I’m going to be optimistic. But enough of that, let’s get started.

When I was younger, a lot of things made sense to me but I didn’t really discuss them with anyone else because (I think) I thought everyone assumed the same thing as me. I don’t know why, I just did. One of those things was that when I was little, I used to think that only women could be singers. Now, before you start calling me sexist, I have a very good reason why. I only ever heard female singers on the radio or on cassette tapes (yes, back inΒ those days!)Β One of the bands I listened to all the time was ABBA, because for some reason I thought they were super cool.

I don’t know when I realized that women weren’t the only people who could be singers. I can’t have been that shocked by the realization that men can also sing, because I don’t remember thinking, “but that means I was wrong!” It’s funny now though, because although I only used to listen to female artists when I was a child (apparently) nowadays, I prefer listening to male artists and bands. My favourite artists are Mika, Adam Lambert, Shinedown, Walk the Moon… and so many more. I mean, I do like to listen to a mix of artists and genres, and I never like to just stick to one type of style. I think it’s just weird that when I was little I had this mindset that women were singers and that was the end of that.

I have a feeling that throughout this series, you’ll find out that I was indeed a very strange child, with very strange ideas. But I won’t go into all of them now because then I’ll have nothing else to write about!

I hope you enjoyed the first installment to my Flashback Friday series! If you have any comments or ideas of things I could write about, then feel free to start a discussion in the comments! I’ll see you all very soon!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

