Random

Let’s Talk About Politics!


Hey guys!

I’m going to be really honest with you, and say that Politics is something I wasn’t planning on discussing on my blog. Like. Ever.

Politics doesn’t really interest me that much, but I think that’s partly because I’ve never been able to vote before this year, and as the UK General Elections are tomorrow, I thought it would be a relevant topic to talk about. Now, before I attempt to go further into this post, please note that I am not a Politics Geek. I don’t really understand Politics too well, so if I get something wrong then don’t shout at me! Okay? Cool.

So in the UK, there are the main parties which are Conservative, Labour, and Liberal Democrats. Recently, the UK Independence Party (UKIP) have become more popular and I think they are seen to be like a “main” party now because everyone is always including them in debates and stuff, but from what I know, UKIP are a bit racist and really quite against the whole immigration issue so… yeah… they’re not the most popular party particularly where I live.

As I said, this is the first year that I’m actually allowed to vote because I am 18. The General and Local Elections are tomorrow and I’m still a bit confused about who to vote for. I think I do know but I’m still… confused. There are other parties such as the Green Party, for example, who aren’t as popular, and in the local elections for my area, we don’t have someone standing for the Greens so if you wanted to for Green locally…you can’t. But we can vote for Green in the General Election…. I think.

You see, this is where I get confused because no one has properly explained it to me without sounding patronizing, or making me feel like I should know all this stuff already, or just explaining it in such a way that I literally have no idea what they just said… A lot of people have been saying how young people should vote, which I totally agree with, but they should tell us how it all works because I think that’s part of the reason why I’ve never been that interested in politics. Because no one has ever really explained it all to me. 

At the moment I think I’m just going to go with the flow and see what happens on the day. I have said that I already have an idea about who I’m going to vote for, but I also feel a bit under pressure because a lot of my friends have been saying that they are all going to vote for the same person, and now I’m not sure if I should vote for the person I was initially thinking about voting for… I don’t know if you could tell but I don’t really want to say who I’m going to vote for. I just have this worry that people are going to judge me based on who I vote for which is another problem. I don’t normally worry about that kind of thing, but I think a lot of people who vote just follow their parents, or their friends because they’ve been put under peer pressure to vote for a certain party.

I have no idea if this post will make any sense, because it’s all of my thoughts written out, which is a hard thing for me to do, because my thoughts rush around my head at the speed of light, so I find I either forget really quickly what I was going to say, or I just find it really hard to describe what I’m trying to say in written form. (Basically, if I was saying this post out loud, there would be a lot more “like’s”, “um’s” and hand gestures)

I hope you enjoyed this post! I know it was a bit different, and I have a feeling I may not be coming back to the topic of Politics for a while because I feel a bit drained now after that!

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Politics!”

  1. Politics is so confusing! I’m not old enough to vote in this election, but the mock elections at school have been getting a bit intense. (It’s not really helped that I don’t understand any of the issues…? Yeah. I just took a free test online to tell me which party best matches my opinions.)
    From the point of view of that one kid who never wants to say who they voted for as form captain, I’d say you should absolutely do what you want rather than what anyone else says. 🙂 Good luck with your voting!
    (UKIP aren’t too popular around where I am, either.)

    1. We had school elections today as well, and although I voted for Green in that one, it didn’t really help that the “leaders” were all people I either didn’t know or didn’t like…

Leave a Reply

