films, reviews

Review on… Avengers: Age of Ultron


Hey guys!

Last night myself and a couple of friends went to see Avengers: Age of Ultron and it was just so good… like… I don’t think I have much I can criticize it on so maybe “review” isn’t the best term for this post… anyway.

So if you’re not a big Marvel fan and you haven’t watched the first Avengers film, or any of the other Marvel films based around the main characters, Age of Ultron probably won’t make much sense to you, because it’s a sequel. And it tends to make sense when you’ve watched the previous film(s).

Age of Ultron starts with a fight scene- it wouldn’t be a good superhero film without any of those, eh? The Avengers are fighting against some Hydra guys to try and retrieve Loki’s scepter so he can take it back to Asgard. But obviously, things go wrong. I mean, if things didn’t go wrong the movie would be over in the first 15 minutes! Some of the main positives for me were the fact that:

  • There was a lot more banter between the protagonists
  • Hawkeye had a more key role and it was so good because I love Hawkeye and he’s so cool with the bows and the arrows…
  • Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver are introduced and they are twins, like me, and they’re kinda relateable because there’s a line when Quicksilver says “Well I am 12 minutes older…”
  • There’s a scene when they’re trying to lift Thor’s hammer, and none of the Avengers can do it. So when Captain America goes up to the table and has a go, the hammer tilts, and we see Thor’s smug grin quickly vanish. But Cap can’t lift it all the way, so Thor just laughs (with a hint of nerves!)

It is such a funny film- probably one of the funniest in the Marvel series but at the same time there are some really emotional elements. I’m not going to tell you what they are because that will be a massive spoiler and I can’t do that to you. That would be horrible. Who would do that?

Finally, one of the best parts of the evening was when we were buying the tickets. We paid separately, so the guy at the other till asked if any of us wanted to pay over there, which I did. He asked if I was a student, to which I said “Yes, but I don’t have a Student Card”. So then he said “That’s okay- I believe you”, so I was the only one who didn’t have to pay for an adult ticket! (But I was the only one who went to the other till, so… it’s not really my fault!)

If you get the chance, I strongly recommend seeing Avengers: Age of Ultron. Yes, you should try and watch the other Marvel films- particularly the first Avengers film, but you’ll probably get the gist of what’s going on even if you haven’t watched all the other films leading up to this one.

-The Storyteller

10869325_591589580977275_2778898650041679518_o

2 thoughts on “Review on… Avengers: Age of Ultron”

  1. I really really need to see this because I love the avengers! My faves would be iron man, captain America and although she’s kind of not as popular I do like black widow because she’s empowering to women. So to have this combined makes me so excited!

Leave a Reply

