advice, awards, health

Let’s Talk about Mental Health


Screenshot 2015-04-14 11.07.26

Hey guys!

The other day I re-blogged a post from Whim’s blog, about understanding Mental Health. I personally don’t suffer from any anxieties, or depression or anything like that, but I do sometimes panic about small things. Sometimes I can get over them really quickly, and other times I need to just stop and try to calm down- but I don’t actually have panic attacks… if that makes sense. You’re probably thinking “Well everyone panics about something every now and then”, which is kind of the point I’m trying to make. A lot of people don’t think these things to be very severe, because they have also experienced something like that before. Except it’s not like that at all. Mental health is something much more serious and complicated.

I have a friend who has suffers from anxiety. I’m not going to go into it in too much detail, but I’ve seen what it’s like and I understand mental health from a friend’s point of view. So my post is for the people who know others who suffer from mental health. You can’t just tell the person to “get over it”, or “just try something new”, or “ignore it”. It’s like telling someone who is afraid of heights to jump out of a plane, or someone who has a phobia of spiders to pick a tarantula up. You have to imagine what it would be like in their position, and what you would want your friends and family to say to you. It can be hard, but if this person is close to you, you have to let them explain to you what they are feeling, and just be supportive.

Recently I saw an article about the demon that is Katie Hopkins, saying that depression is an excuse for people to get attention. Which is absolutely ridiculous, and is why I wanted to take part in Whim’s “Understand Me” Award. It shows how little people are willing to understand Mental Health issues, and I think Katie Hopkins is someone who clearly doesn’t know anyone closely who actually suffers from these things. I know she’s getting paid to say ridiculous stuff, but I find it absoultely disgusting, and sickening.

This post wasn’t really meant to be a rant about Katie Hopkins, because that would take all day! But I think she is a good example as to why Mental Health needs as much positive attention as possible. These views are from someone who knows very little about what it’s like to feel misunderstood, or alone. So if you take anything away from this post, just remember this: don’t be afraid to talk to people- whether you are suffering from a mental illness, or if you are a friend of someone who is. Talking can be the best medicine.

To end, I want you to read this: Someone explained mental health in a way that really does make sense to everyone.

Thank you for reading.

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk about Mental Health”

  1. I hadn’t seen that article from Katie Hopkins but she seems to be a terrible person who says things for shock value and attention. Mental health issues are very real and she should not be so dismissive. Support and understanding can really go a long way to helping someone. Great post!

  2. Reblogged this on Words On A Whim and commented:
    Another Great post! Give this girl a big read 🙂 she is adorable – she hasn’t been following me long but I love a new follower. I love reading their blog and finding out what they’re all about! I’m so grateful someone so new to my blog has taken this on. Thank you so much Storyteller! 🙂

Leave a Reply

