advice, motivation, revision, school

Revision Timetables


Hey guys!

My first exam is exactly one month away, so if you’re like me and haven’t done as much revision over the Easter Break as you should have done, then I’m here to try and give you some advice on the dreaded Revision Timetable.

I personally can’t stick to Timetables when it comes to revision. I normally do what I feel like needs to be revised the most on that day, and see how far away I am from the exam and just do it day by day, rather than making a whole timetable, and finding that I revise one subject more than others.

When it came to my GCSE’s, my friend gave me the idea to make a sticker chart, because… who doesn’t like stickers? Each time I revised a subject, I would give myself a sticker, and after a while I could see which subject I was revising the most, and which subject needed more attention. It was a visual way for me to sort my life out.

Last year I didn’t do a revision timetable, which was okay I guess, but I still feel like I could have done more. Even if I did do a good amount, I just felt that I hadn’t done as much as I had for my GCSE’s. I think the main reason for this is because at A-level, you only normally do about 3 or 4 subjects, whereas at GCSE, it’s closer to 11 subjects. (I can’t remember exactly, but I do remember having about 19 exams!)

This year, I decided to go back to the sticker chart, but I’m not going to be as lenient as I was with my GCSE chart. By this, I mean I have written out a key at the bottom, with the following time frames:

  • 30 mins revision = (red sticker)
  • 1 hour revision = (yellow sticker)
  • 1 hr 30 mins revision = (orange sticker)
  • 2 hours revision = (green sticker)
  • 2+ hours revision = (gold sticker)

Each of these times will be per day. Quite often people say to do no more than 2 hours of revision a day, because it is important to take breaks, so I have decided to give myself a gold sticker if  I do more than 2 hours because that it quite an achievement!

Hopefully this helps any of you who have exams coming up! I know revising methods will be different for everyone, but if you’re stressing out because you haven’t found a good way to revise yet, then try this out and tell me what you think!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

