school, Swimming, thoughts

End of an Era


Hey guys!

Quite often in life, we take up new challenges, or new hobbies, but they’re not always things that are going to have a long lasting effect on the rest of your life. For example, I used to do kayaking for a bit, but I gave it up because it was quite far away and took up too much time. But I wasn’t too upset about it because it was fun at the time, but I knew that it wasn’t something I really wanted to pursue competitively or anything like that.

When I was about 10 or 11 I started playing hockey, and I played for about four years at school, and once a week outside of school. I did go to quite a few matches, but I always felt slightly excluded because the friends I had on the team weren’t really close friends, and they all seemed to take to hockey much more than I did. I mean, that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy playing it, because I did. I really enjoyed the matches, but when it came up to my GCSE’s, I had already started doing a lot more swimming, so I had to sacrifice hockey. At the start of Year 12 I began to play again, but by that stage all of my friends had had a year or so to improve massively and I felt really far behind everyone. So, that brought the end to my hockey days. Well, there was that, and there was the time we had our house hockey match at school, and on my team there were two players: me, and the goal keeper. That meant I had to play literally every single other position at the same time. Not. Cool.

So this all got me thinking about what things I’m going to be giving up in the future. As you know, I’m doing French at A-level, and I’ve been learning it since I was about three years old, because my mum wanted us all (me, my brother and sister) to have a second language, and she felt that schools weren’t really teaching it properly. Anyway, once I’ve finished French this year, that will be it. I’m not going to do a degree in French at University, so unless I join a French society, I’m not going to be learning anymore French. That’s 15 years of doing something. I think it will be quite… weird. I was going to say emotional, but this past year of French has just about killed me, so I think taking a break will be quite beneficial! A-level French has probably been what has caused me the most amount of stress, so in that sense, I’m quite glad that I won’t have to go through it again.

Swimming is another thing that I have been doing for as long as I can remember. I think I first started swimming lessons when I was four years old, but I’ve always been a water addict. I’ve been part of my current swimming club for about eight years or so, and when I go to University, I hope to join the club there. Swimming isn’t something I would give up easily, but I still find it weird that although I’m going to carry on with it, it’s still going to be a new start. My swimming club days with the tiny little club I’m in right now are slowly coming to an end, and I know for sure that it’s going to be an emotional good bye. I have made so many friends, who I am definitely going to come back and visit, and it’ll be weird not to swim with them for five days a week.

Personally, I think when things come to an end, it usually marks the start of something new. It can be scary, if the situation is something like moving away from home, but it’s also exciting. And it means a new era can start.

-The Storyteller

8 thoughts on “End of an Era”

  1. I thought this when I left school but I ended up taking French classes at Uni for fun (after a break of course!!)

      1. One of my half-formed plans is nannying/au pairing in France for 6 months or so.. . that’s one option! It depends what you want to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

