Music, reviews

Review on… ‘Dead Inside’ and ‘Psycho’- Muse


Hey guys!

The next few posts are going to be music reviews on both singles (like this post) and new albums which I got recently, just so you are aware.

As I said, and as you can see from the title, today’s music review is on Muse’s new singles “Psycho”, which was released about two weeks ago, and “Dead Inside”, which was released earlier this week. Both songs are off the upcoming album “Drones”, which is to be released this summer, which is super exciting because Muse are an awesome band.

So, as “Psycho” was the first song to be released, it makes sense to review it first.

This is one of those songs where I loved it as soon as I heard it because it’s so… Muse. I can imagine them playing it live and everyone just going absolutely mental. I love it so much, and I’ve found that when you compare it to “Madness”, from “The 2nd Law” (Muse’s last album, if you’re not familiar) it does have some similarities. However, “Madness” didn’t really grab my attention as much as “Psycho” did. I’m not sure what it is about the song, but it’s just a really cool song, it’s got a cool beat and the riffs are also pretty cool. And anyway, to have a good Muse song you need to have a good guitar solo…

The next song is obviously “Dead Inside”.

“Dead Inside” received a lot of mixed reviews amongst the Muse community. I personally loved it when I heard it for the first time being played on the radio, but there were a lot of people who took to Twitter to complain that it wasn’t what they were expecting. Which is odd, considering that no Muse song sounds exactly the same. They are known for experimenting, and even though you’ll get two songs like “Psycho” and “Dead Inside” which sound completely different, you can still say “Yeah, that’s a Muse song”. But anyway, I really like this second single (even though my sister has just about played it to death in the few days it’s been released) because when you really look at the lyrics, it’s actually really sad. I think this is an example as to why Rock music lyrics have more depth to them than Pop songs, for example. For me it just seems more real. I don’t know how else to explain it, really.

So that is what I think, but I’d like to know what you think! Feel free to leave your comments below.

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Review on… ‘Dead Inside’ and ‘Psycho’- Muse”

Leave a Reply

