awards, challenges, poetry

Love in 10 Sentences


Hey guys!

My poetry skills have been challenged by the lovely Aiden, AKA Bubbakavangha to write about Love in ten sentences. For those of you who have followed my blog since way back when, you’ll know that I used to write a lot of stories and poems on this blog, and if you really, really reaaaally want to read them, then you can have a sneaky little search using the search bar.

So, I have to do the following:

  • Write a poem of ten lines, four words per line, about love
  • Each line containing the word ‘love’
  • Include your favourite quote about love at the end
  • Challenge other blogs to do the same

Now, there is nothing saying this has to be a “Love Poem”, you know, about the typical “I love you but you don’t love me” kind of thing, so I have a feeling that this poem is going to be very sarcastic. Usually when I write poems it takes me a few days to think of a concept, and how the rhyming pattern should be, and how I should structure it (clear English Literature student right here!) but this challenge has limited me to only four words per line so I think this is going to be difficult. Anyway, what’s life without a challenge?

Love in Ten Sentences

This poem’s about love,
apparently. Love
is difficult because love
for you isn’t love
for me. ‘Love’ is
starting to look weird
now. Aw man, I’ve
messed up because I
haven’t said ‘Love’ for
a few lines now…

I think that was quite possibly the worst poem about love you will ever come across… I’m actually quite disappointed with how that went to be really honest! Oh well, at least I tried. You’d expect me to be quite good at this kind of thing considering my theme for my A2 English Literature exam is Love Through the Ages, but at least I know I’ll be good at the next bit, which is including your favourite quote about love, which is:

He hadn’t once ceased looking at Daisy, and I think he revalued everything in his house according to the measure of response it drew from her well-loved eyes.

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald.

I chose this quote because it’s from one of my favourite books, and it’s an absolute classic so if you haven’t at least seen the film, then get off your arse and read The Great Gatsby. It’s not a particularly hard read, and (SPOILER ALERT) it doesn’t have a happy ending which isn’t always a bad thing because it’s not what you’d expect.

I’ve just looked back on Aiden’s post, and his quote was also four words long but it didn’t say that exactly in the rules so I’m going to stick with what I’ve got!!

Right, I am now going to challenge:

Edwina’s Episodes

The Unmarked Road

Taile

Maddy Amelia

Good luck in your poem writing skills! (And don’t worry if you suck at writing- I don’t think yours can get any worse than mine!)

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

