how to, motivation, revision, school

Self-Motivation


Hey guys!

It’s one week until the Easter Holidays, which means it’s one week of my teachers telling me how I need to be revising for my exams… fun fun fun…

At this point, I can’t wait to finish school and move on and go to new places and do new things, but I have a feeling that motivating myself to actually revise may be fairly difficult. I think this is a problem a lot of people face with, whether it’s with GCSEs or A-Levels, or whatever final exams you’re sitting, because obviously you want to do well, but revising can be really boring…

I always find that once I get started, things get a lot easier, and you can find your own routine. I remember doing my GCSEs and I tried making a timetable, but I just couldn’t stick to it. So I decided to have a routine where I’d choose on the day what I wanted to revise, and what I felt like I had to revise, and I gave myself a sticker for each time I revised a subject, which worked out quite well for me. I mean, I got 5 A’s, 2 B’s and 2 C’s, so I obviously did something right.

Recently I wrote about procrastination, which you can find here. I basically said how when I find myself procrastinating, I always feel worse than when I’m actually doing something productive because otherwise you’ll find yourself a week away from your first exam and you won’t have done any revision. And that’s when you start to freak out.

I know motivating yourself is one of the hardest things to do, and even I find it easier to motivate others than myself. But it’s just one of those things where you have to take a piece of your own advice, because if you’re telling all these other people how to motivate themselves and you’re just spending all your time on Netflix or then you’re kind of being a bit of a hypocrite. And if you’re anything like me, then you’ll hate being called a hypocrite, so maybe that could be something to get you going- Go and prove me wrong!

You have to be in the right mindset to properly motivate yourself. You can’t just force yourself to do something because I find that if I try and force myself to do something, I’ll only spend about 10 minutes doing it before I find myself on Twitter, complaining about all the work I’ve got to do. It just won’t work like that, so you have to find your own way of actually wanting to do the work you have to do. That could be by working with a friend, or if you know that will be too much of a distraction, then you can always ask a parent or sibling to test you. I remember testing my sister on her history work last year, and made it a bit like a Game Show and I was the host and it was just a really fun way of learning all the dates and statistics and people and everything that you think will take you weeks to remember.

So be creative! But don’t spend too much time making your revision notes look pretty, you do actually have to get work done! Do you have any top tips to get revising? If so, feel free to share them in the comments!

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “Self-Motivation”

  1. I also have my first set of GCSE exams in a few weeks, and I haven’t done any revision yet, so thank you for this, it’s exactly what I needed! By the way, I love the idea of a sticker chart – it sounds like a really useful tool when trying to juggle all 11 subjects! Thanks again 🙂

    1. No problem! And good luck with your exams! Remember you have time in between each exam to revise as well (assuming you have study leave?) but try not to cram it all in the night before!

Leave a Reply

