reviews, theatre

Review on… The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time


Hey guys!

On Tuesday I went to see a superb adaption of the stage-play “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” at the Plymouth Theatre Royal, and it was quite literally one of the best plays I’ve ever seen.

I wasn’t a massive fan of the book of the same name by Mark Haddon when I read it last year, because I found Christopher’s rants a bit boring, and I thought the end was a bit disappointing. However, from the moment the play began I was instantly hooked. The stage was fairly simple, with the cast using boxes and hidden cupboards on the “walls” to bring on props. The stage also had LED lights, which gave it an amazing effect for parts including when Christopher travels to London on the train and the tube, as well as when he talks about wanting to be an astronaut.

Throughout the play, Christopher talks to Siobhan, his teacher at school, who also acts as the narrator. In these scenes, he plays with a train set and keeps adding to it. This builds up to the end of the first act when Christopher’s mother Judy is introduced, and he builds the railway and adds props such as the London Eye, so we see that he’s thinking about going there. But the coolest bit is thatΒ the train actually moved!Β It had little lights inside it and everything, and it had sound effects, and it was just an incredible way to end the first act because there was a buzz amongst the audience for the whole interval.

The choreography was done by Frantic Assembly, who I have raved about before, and if you are a Frantic fan like myself, then you will definitely notice the choreography is very Frantic. It’s not really dancing, but there was a lot of moving to the rhythm and the beat, and using physical theatre to portray certain objects- an example is when Christopher sneaks home one night, and shows his routine of wiping his shoes, putting his keys away etc.

I highly recommend “Curious Incident” to any avid theatre goer, because it is absolutely fantastic, it’s funny, it’s emotional… the only thing that ruined it for me was the group of 14-year-old boys sitting in the row behind me who started talking more and more as the end of the first act was approaching, and one of them even had the audacity of tapping the top of my chair… but thankfully I’m a big and scary 18-year-old who is addicted to seeing things in the theatre, so I put them back in their places, and enjoyed the second act very much!

Have any of you seen “Curious Incident”, or thinking about seeing it? If you do go and see it, I don’t think you’ll regret a second. It’s amazing.

-The Storyteller

curious_new_banner with title2

Leave a Reply

