rants

That Thing Called Stress…


Hey guys!

Recently my life feels like it’s just constantly filled with deadlines, and being busy, and working, and swimming, and somehow trying to find the time to hang out with friends, or even just be alone for 5 minutes.

A few weeks ago we had mock exams, and 2/3 of mine were okay. One… not so much. I got an E, for a subject I was predicted a C in, so that was great. I mean, it’s not like it’s put me under any more pressure or anything, right? And there’s also the fact that I literally have to get an A in English to get into University next year. Oh, and of course I have a 5,000 word essay to write in two weeks, so I’m not exactly going to be getting a break.

I find that swimming is my get-away from the stress of work and school life, but at the same time, I feel under pressure. We have a long list of galas coming up, and if I don’t sign up to them, my coach will keep asking questions, but it’s just because I don’t have the time. I don’t have the time to worry about revising in a situation where I can’t exactly revise otherwise my notes will all get wet. Or if I can revise, then I’m probably going to forget to go up to my race and miss it, which is just a waste of money.

Two of my subjects are coursework and exam subjects, and media is one of them. Our deadline is tomorrow, and the Macs which have been working so well for the last couple of months, have decided to crash at the last minute, which means we can’t edit the final three clips together and now everything’s just piling up so I don’t really know what to do. My teacher hasn’t been much help because he doesn’t know what’s wrong, and I went to the IT tech-gurus twice today but they weren’t in either time I went. So that’s really great.

In other news, everyone else around me seems to getting on with life pretty sweetly and are getting over those bumps in the road whereas I’m just… not. I don’t want to be in this situation anymore but it’s getting harder and harder to keep myself motivated.

And I’m tired. I tend to release my feelings when I’m tired. I don’t know if I should be allowed to write when it’s later that 10pm, I mean right now it’s 10:01, so I’d really be heading off now.

-The Storyteller.

*I apologize for that post. Reading it now, that was possibly the worst ending to any post in existance.*

1 thought on “That Thing Called Stress…”

  1. Hold on–you can do it! Busy people get the most stuff done. Take some time to reflect if you can each week–even if it’s only for a couple of minutes–and pat yourself on the back for everything you’ve done! If everything isn’t perfect and you still slip and fall and fail sometimes, you’re still ahead of the curve. “Men who try to do something and fail are infinitely better than those who try to do nothing and succeed.”–Lloyd Jones

Leave a Reply

