films

Same Old Academy Awards…


Hey guys!

Before you read this post, I urge you to read this article:

http://mashable.com/2015/01/15/oscars-diversity-ava-duvernay/

You may have guessed that I love films. I can’t get enough out of them, to be honest, and I like watching the award ceremonies- be the BAFTA’s, Golden Globes, or the big one that is the Oscars. And until I read the article above, I hadn’t really thought that much about who is working behind the scenes to decide who gets an award. To be more specific, as it says in the article, the majority of the people who make the final decisions are white men who are over the age of 50… and that’s just for the Oscars.

I think it’s ridiculous that in the last decade alone, only one female director has actually won an award for the Best Director category. I haven’t seen the Hurt Locker, directed by Kathryn Bigelow in 2010, mainly because I was too young to watch it at the time, but the point is that there really does need to be more diversity in this industry. I mean, isn’t about expression? And the fact that 93% of the voting members are white, and 76% are male kind of explains why it’s always the same sorts of films that win.

I’m glad I’ve read the article, because I do want some variation in these awards shows. As much as I like them, I seriously think that it’s always the same people, or the same genres that win- why? Because it’s the same people voting. We are living in an age where your race, gender, or age shouldn’t have to define these sorts of things, so why is it that in this multi-million dollar industry, people aren’t getting the recognition they deserve?

Now, I’m not saying that any of the films that have actually been nominated shouldn’t have been nominated. I mean, The Imitation Game is probably one of my favourite films of the year so I would like it to win. But if we take into account the amount of films that haven’t been nominated, but really should have done, it is really shocking.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

