humour, Stories

I’M SO AWKWARD


Hey guys!

So basically, I’m really good at embarrassing myself. In some places I’ve learnt how to deal with it so that I don’t make myself look stupid in public, but there are still times when I can’t even deal with the awkwardness.

I’ve said before that I like meeting new people, and I’m pretty good at keeping a conversation going et cetera, et cetera, but last June, I got a job as a lifeguard at the swimming pool where I swim five days a week. I know a lot of the lifeguards already so I thought it would be perfectly fine… but I didn’t realize how often I would embarrass myself while working. A lot of the time they just let it go, I mean, everyone I work with has been really nice which is great, but at the same time, I think it makes it a bit worse because now I get the impression that they might think I’m a bit… I don’t know… stupid. Not like school-subjects stupid but… I don’t know what it is, so I can’t ask them because then I’d probably embarrass myself even further…

For example, there was three of us working, and I had only just arrived so I’d been there for about ten minutes, and one of the other lifeguards said “I’m going on my break now”, so I was like “Yeah okay!”. But I thought he said I could go on my break, which was a bit weird because I’d only been there for ten minutes, so I went to the reception for a bit. And then he called up to the reception when I was about to start going back to the pool, and explained the situation and I was… embarrassed. There is no other word. And stupid stuff like that keeps happening, I don’t know why, or what I’m doing but uhhh! 

tumblr_mf82ysSHMw1r7vfy0o1_500_large

Hope your day has been good, and I will see you all next time!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

