Uncategorized

Let’s Talk About Respect


Hey guys!

I think, as a whole, the human race has grown up a bit in the last however many million years it’s been since we first arrived on the planet. But there are still some of us who just don’t want to accept that change can sometimes be a good thing.

However, I don’t really understand why some things are only starting to change now. Let’s look at marriage, for example. I mean, a decade ago, two men or two women weren’t allowed to get married, even though marriage is about love… that doesn’t really make any sense, and there are still people who frown upon it. Why can’t people accept change? If you’re not someone who is a part of this “big change”, and it doesn’t affect you or your life, then why is it such a big thing? The only outcome I can think of for this is religion.

I’m not religious, but I have family and friends who are Christian, for example. I don’t go around saying “No, your views are all wrong, I’m right blah blah blah” and they don’t say that to me either. Why? It’s called respect. I respect the fact that they believe in a God, and they respect that I don’t and we all just get on with it. And I’m sure in the future I’m not going to limit myself to the people I make friends with based on their religion.

So that brings me onto the recent happenings in Paris. I’m not going to go into it, because I am 99.9% sure you all know already, but just because two Muslim men went  and shot 12 innocent people, it doesn’t mean that all Muslim’s would agree with their actions. I’m glad that Respect for Muslims was trending on Twitter the other day, because I can’t for the life of me understand why everyone just assumes that all Muslims are terrorists. It’s like saying all Blonde’s are stupid. We are now just generalizing an entire religion based on a few people and their extreme views.

I’m not really sure where I’m going with this. It’s a difficult thing to talk about. I don’t think my opinion on the matter will change anything, but I felt it was important to get my view across to some people.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

