Uncategorized

Not a New Year’s Resolution…


Hey guys, and hey there, 2015!

It’s a week until my 18th Birthday, in case you wanted to know. Not that it’s completely relevant. But I’m just saying.

Man, I think I’ve spent too long away from my blog, I’ve forgotten how to write…

Anyway. I’ve decided that this year, I’m not going to make any “New Year’s Resolutions”, because I never stick to them. I normally just say that I’m going to improve in swimming, but I know that I’m going to improve because I swim most days of the week, so it’s really just an easy way out.

I’m not going to go on a year-long diet, because frankly, I don’t agree with diets, and I will only go on a diet when I actually need to go on a diet, and 2015 is not going to be that year.

I’m not going to give up eating chocolate, because as much as I love the stuff, there is only so much I can eat before I think I’m going to throw it all back up again, so there’s no need for me to limit myself. I know how to control my chocolate-intake already, thank you.

Now that I have a job, and have had this job since June, I now am able to spend more money. But I’m not going to make a resolution saying that I’m going to spend less money on things I don’t need, because I hardly go out shopping anyway. With exams only 5 months away, I’m going to spend as much time inside as I can instead of worrying about my bank balance and what I’m spending it on.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the idea of having a New Year’s resolution, but who actually sticks to them? I mean, does anyone get to October and go, “This whole ‘buying no more shoes’ thing for 2015 has gone really well. All of my old pairs have holes in them now, but lets just wait until 2016!” It’s a bit ridiculous if you ask me. People need to be realistic, and set realistic goals. Like, getting fitter, if you do little or no sport. But it doesn’t have to take the whole year to get fitter. It’ll probably just become a good habit and you’ll make going to the gym part of your daily routine.

Rather than setting a New Year’s Resolution, I’m going to set myself some goals. You could argue that they’re the same thing, but my thinking is that if I call it a “resolution”, then I’m not going to complete it.

  1. Get the Grades.
    After looking at countless universities, I’ve decided that Birmingham is my top choice, and I’m waiting for some form of reply, saying that they’d like to give me an offer or not. To get there, I need to get an A in English Literature, an A in another subject, and a B in my third subject. As it’s a Russel Group University, it’s going to be really hard to get in if I don’t get these grades, so that’s what I’m going to be working on for the next 6 months.
  2. Worry Less.
    Linking with getting into University, I know that I need to worry less about whether I’m going to get in or not. I can be quite picky, and if I don’t get into Birmingham, I will be sad, but I can’t just spend my time worrying about it, because then I know I won’t be happy wherever I go. So, as optimistic as I am already, I just need to keep an open mind.
  3. Make Memories.
    This year is my last year at school. It’s not even a year left. My exams are in June, and then I’m done. I have friends who are planning on going to University this year, like myself, I have friends who are going to go on a gap year before setting upon the major task of studying medicine, and I have friends in Year 12, the year below me. When September comes around, it’s going to be a whole new start for everyone, so I want to make as many good memories for the people around me as possible. Why? Because I know that some of these people might find the whole “change” process harder than others so it’s not just a way for me to look back on some of the good times, but for them as well to remember.

So those are my main goals for 2015. I think they’re pretty realistic, andΒ now it’s time for the hard work to begin.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

