blogmas

Blogmas Day 23: The Dentist


Hey guys!

I’ve always wondered why going to the dentist was seen as a horrible scary thing because all of my experiences have been okay. But that’s probably the point, because if you’ve had to have countless operations and teeth pulled out, then you’re not going to be a big fan of the dentist, are you.

The reason I decided to bring this up, is because I went to the dentist yesterday, but my story goes back six months ago, when I first met our new dentist.

We moved to Devon nearly ten years ago, and from then until last year we had the same dentist and everything was fine. Then, six months ago, I had to go to the dentist on my own, and my mum hadn’t actually told me that we had a new dentist, so when the nurse called my name, I followed her into the room and paused at the door because the old dentist with the grey hair wasn’t sitting in the seat. I thought I’d walked into the wrong room but this new, young (and ginger- not that I have a problem with ginger people) dentist new who I was.

“Take a seat, Janet”, he smiled, while sorting out his dentist tools. I was so confused. I just couldn’t understand why no one had told me, not my mum, or the receptionist, that there was a new dentist in our midst and it was one of those situations which feels like it should be a practical joke.

Don’t get me wrong, my new dentist is perfectly fine and he isn’t one of those horror stories you hear about. But the only thing I don’t particularly like about going to the dentist is:

  1. Making eye-contact: I’ve always felt awkward with making eye-contact with people I don’t really know that well, so when you have someone leaning over you looking into your mouth, you have to find points on the ceiling, but you don’t really want to look in the same place for too long, but there aren’t really any other options other than looking at the ceiling, or actually making eye-contact.
  2. Does my breath smell? I always brush my teeth before I go to the dentist because I just have this little voice in the back of my head saying “Oh My God what if he finds a bit of left-overs stuck in your teeth and then he’ll laugh at you or maybe he’ll say that you need to have an operation to get it out blah blah blah”. Okay, it’s not exactly like that, but I do get a bit conscious about if my breath smells really bad, or something like that.

And yeah. The dentist. I don’t really know why someone would want to become a dentist… I remember I thought about becoming a dentist when I was younger, but then I also wanted to be an astronomer, a surgeon, and a librarian, so that didn’t really work out. But if you think about it though, looking at someone’s teeth as a profession seems a little odd. I guess it’s the same for opticians…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

