blogmas, films, reviews

Review on… The Imitation Game (Blogmas 22)


Hey guys!

Yesterday I went to see the absolutely fantastic “The Imitation Game”, featuring Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightly. Set during the Second World War, this film follows the story of Alan Turing, a mathematician, hired by the government to break the Enigma Code, a communication system set up by the Nazi’s. By doing so, meant that this small group of scholars, linguists, chess champions and intelligence officers helped to shorten the war, and save thousands of lives.

I have to say, in terms of films this year, I was starting to get a bit disappointed. There were so many films which I wanted to be good, but there was just something missing… until I saw “The Imitation Game”. It had everything- a brilliant cast, including Mark Strong, and Allen Leech, it had a plot full of drama from start to finish, and it was emotional. It wasn’t just your average war film with guns and fighting the enemy- in fact, it was ultimately about fighting for something you believe in. A drama filled with suspense, with mystery after mystery leaving the audience on the edge of their seats, it is easily one of the best films of this year.

I may sound biased when I write this, because I am a massive Cumberbatch fan, and I also love Allen Leech in Downton Abbey, but after seeing “The Imitation Game”, my admiration for these actors, and all the others, has risen loads. I mean, I knew Cumberbatch was a good actor- I think we all knew that already- but his performance was just amazing. I’m actually struggling for words to describe how good it was, which defies the point of a review, really… maybe it’s because it’s been ages since I wrote my last review…

I’m really glad that “The Imitation Game” has been nominated for the amount of awards it has been. It really deserves it. And I highly recommend that you go and see it if you haven’t already- go and see it again if you have! If you’re not into war films, then I still recommend it, because as I said, it’s not really the fighting side of it. Yes, it does have references every here and there, but it enhances the drama and the story.

-The Storyteller

7885_poster_iphone

Leave a Reply

