blogmas

Blogmas Day 16: Unexpected Items


Hey guys!

This post was suggested by a lovely reader back on my “Blogmas Block” post, and I’m actually surprised that this thought hadn’t occurred to me. At Christmas, there is always some form of mixed reaction in the “present-giving-and-receiving-ceremony” because there will sometimes be a present that… you didn’t not want, per say, but more along the lines of… weren’t expecting. 

A few years ago, my sister and I both got paperweights from my gran, which is something neither of us have, or will ever use. Now, don’t get me wrong, I really liked the design and the pattern of mine, because it had flowers and birds and things like that on it, but I knew that I wasn’t going to use it for it’s actual purpose. At the moment, it’s on my desk sitting over the hole which I’m guessing is used for the wires to go through, I don’t know. But because I don’t have any wires to go through the hole in my desk, it just sits there to cover it up so I don’t lose things through it, and My God am I good at losing things.

I’ve never hated any Christmas presents, or any presents in general. I mean, when someone gives you a present, they’ve spent money and time on you, so it literally is the thought that counts. They didn’t have to buy you something, after all. Last year, my mum got me two skirts. We have this tradition where we open one present under the tree on Christmas Eve, so one of the skirts was the one I opened. Before I actually opened it, my mum said “It doesn’t matter if you don’t like it, because there is another one similar”, so I opened it and there was this really nice skirt… but I just felt it wasn’t me. I didn’t want to say that I didn’t like it, but I think she could tell that it wasn’t quite right and she was perfectly fine with it. And like I said, she’d gotten a different skirt which I can wear on any occasion. It’s plain black from H&M, which can be worn for casual occasions, or formal parties and get-together’s.

So that’s my little story about unexpected presents. I don’t know if there’s a right way to dealing with something like this, but I know for sure that I’m glad I’m not a little kid anymore, because kids can be cruel at Christmas. You know, when they get a Nintendo DS instead of a Nintendo DSi, and they’ll probably end up in tears… man, Christmas really must be tough for parents.

To all the parents out there this Christmas, good luck.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

