blogmas

Blogmas Day 9: Being Busy


Hey guys!

Once you get to a certain age, everything just starts to pile up on top of each other and you find yourself getting more and more busy, and you eventually have to spend more time doing things for other people than you spend with your friends and family…. Or even yourself.

I don’t mind being busy. Busy, for me, is a good thing because I hate being bored. I can’t stand being bored, because I just feel useless, and then I find it hard to motivate myself. However, if I’m busy a lot of the time, then I schedule my day/week/weekend and then when it gets to the end of the day, you just have a feeling of accomplishment. And that’s a good thing.

The bad thing about being busy is that it really tires you out. I’ve been hit right in the face with tiredness- it’s like an invisible flying stamp saying “THIS PERSON IS REALLY TIRED” has punched my forehead and I’ve been walking around for the past month or so in some sort of Zombie state… I just really need a break. But when do we ever get breaks? School Holidays are basically just a lie once you get to around the age of 14 or 15. If they used proper English, they would change it to “You-don’t-have-to-come-into-school-for-the-next-two-weeks-but-we-still-expect-you-to-do-all-of-this-impossible-amount-of-work” days. Because that’s really what it is, and it never stops. My mum is a teacher, and she spends all of her weekends and holidays doing lesson plans, or marking… And people say teachers don’t do much.

In summary, I like being busy, but there is a limit to how much busy I can take. You know? I am definitely going to do some revision this Christmas Holiday, mainly because we have mock exams when we get back, but also because I feel like I haven’t done enough work outside of school in the whole three months that we’ve been back at school. And why is this? Because we are expected to do so much work. My headteacher said to me today that in the UK, students sit the most amount of exams than in any other country- it was something like over 100 hours sat in the hall writing exams.

No wonder I have no free time…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

