blogmas

Blogmas Day 3: Presents!


Hey guys!

Man, I’m good at this whole blogging-every-day-thing. Today, I feel it is necessary to write about presents. But not only presents. Present Ideas.

If you’re getting presents for close friends or family, this job is easy. You know them well enough, so it’s easy. Right?

Well, not always.

What if there’s one year when you find the perfect present that gets its way onto the wall of present-fame, and it’s all great, but then all of a sudden it’s 12 months later and you have to find a present to blow last year’s present out of the water. How are you going to go about that?

My theory, is that chocolate never goes wrong. But if you get chocolate every year, it starts to get boring. What you need to do, is be subtle. Ask in advance what sort of thing they’d really like, but don’t mention Christmas. Obviously. That’s an amateur mistake. Second thing: check that said thing actually exists. One year, when I was about six, I wrote to Santa asking for a Miffy (the rabbit) toy that can walk and talk and do all sorts of things, and when Christmas day came around, I burst into tears because I got all these Hello Kitty pencils and lip balm and nail vanish type things, which was probably what my sister wanted.

Geez, I was an ungrateful little kid…

Anyway. That’s back when Santa wasn’t just my parents in disguise. Nowadays, we actually have to do things for ourselves. Third thing, is to make sure it’s a good present, but within your budget. I mean, you don’t want to go spending Β£200 on somethingΒ forΒ someone else, who probably won’t get you anything that expensive in their life. Ever. That’s not cool. Don’t do it. Believe me.

Basically the best thing to do when you’re going Christmas shopping is to think about how much the person will like the present, if they’ll use it, and if it’s too expensive. Yes, good quality things tend to be costly, but you don’t have to go all out. I’m sure the person you’re buying for will understand.

-They Storyteller

Leave a Reply

