opinion, Random

Why I Want to Act


Hey guys!

This is a bit of a random post, like many, but bare with me.

I’ve known what I want to do with my life for around the same amount of time that I’ve had this blog. For those of you who have kept with me from 2011 will know that I want to act. I’m not doing Drama this year, because when it came to dropping one of my AS subjects, I had to think realistically, so drama, being my lowest grade, was the one that had to go. The majority of people reading this will have never seen me act before, so you’re probably thinking

“Well is she any good then?”

My opinion on this is that the arts are something that shouldn’t be graded. And I found I wasn’t enjoying drama at school so much anymore. I don’t know if it was my teacher, or some of the other students, but I just felt like I didn’t fit in withΒ themΒ anymore. And then I started questioning whether it was really for me. I mean, in my coursework I got a B, which was both a monologue, and written work.

But that’s not the point.

A little while ago I wrote about going to Kent University for a student day, and we had to do some drama workshop games and techniques, and it made me realize how much I missed it. I also have a bit of an obsession with watching bloopers and behind the scenes footage of films or TV shows, and it just looks like so much fun. I’m a person who likes to have fun. Put two and two together and what have you got? (No, the answer isn’t bibbity bobbity boo… sorry to disappoint.)

There is a quote which says

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.

I think acting will be that thing for me. I don’t want to do it to be famous, and it’s really unlikely that I would become famous. In fact, the idea of fame scares me. I know all the good stuff that can come with it, but I’d hate to lose my private life, and that anonymity (wow, big word Janet) that many of us take for granted. I mean, can you imagine having paparazzi’s hopelessly trying to hide behind a bush or a lamppost across the streetΒ trying to get a good snap of you reading their magazine or newspaper, or eating a slightly bruised banana, and then all of a sudden you’re some health guru.

It’s just weird. The whole thing is bizarre to me. I know that fame can be a side effect of the success actors or musicians or other celebrities get, but there should at least be some in-between. If I managed to get to that stage, I’d be happy.

Although, thinking about it, I wonder what I would call my fans… the Bargmen? Barg People…. I still have time to think about it.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

