Uncategorized

Meeting New People


Hey guys.

I’m at that stage in life where I’m being bombarded with UCAS information, personal statement drafts, and University open days.

Oh, and the stress of the idea of not getting the grades you need to get into the University you want to go to.

Yesterday I went to Kent University to go to a student day. And it was really great fun. The only problem I found was that I had to be awkward and decided to do English Literature and Drama as a joint honour at University, so I could only spend the morning with the drama crowd, before having to go to English after lunch.

The morning was really good. I met loads of people who were really friendly and it was really interesting to see where they came from, where they want to go to University, and I think it’s because we were all drama students, that we had the confidence to go up to a complete stranger and instantly get along. I don’t remember seeing anyone at lunchtime sitting on their own, and that made me really happy.

Then I had to go to the English talks, and I was a bit late because the girl who took me was given the wrong information. But we got there in the end, and it was clear that the people had already had time to meet and talk and get to know each other a bit. I think it’s also because the drama was practical, and you had to talk to others, whereas with English, they had actual seminars (they were only an hour long, but it was a taster day). The only person I actually spoke to was at the end of the day, but I don’t even know what her name was.

I think if I’d started with English, and the day for me was the other way around, it maybe could have been better, but I just think it was a bit weird having all these different subjects on the same day, because then people like me couldn’t really experience fully what it would be like. And I missed a seminar about Theatre and Ethics, which sounded really interesting.

But yeah. That doesn’t really change my views on Kent. I still like it as a University, but I just need to decide if it’ll be my first or second choice.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

