Uncategorized

Bookshops


Hey guys!

I think I have a bit of an unhealthy obsession with bookshops. I may have written about this before, but that just goes to show you. Eh?

Anyway, I was in class today, and one of my teachers was talking about where to buy books and she said about going to Amazon because they’re cheaper than a lot of places, and they’re quick etc. etc. And that got me thinking about how much we should really be supporting local bookshops because otherwise, we’ll be so reliant on the internet that we won’t get anywhere.

I’d love to work in a bookshop at some point in my life, because I just love them. I love the smell, and the different people you find there, and obviously the countless rows and shelves of books pretty much makes me fangirl a little bit.

Now, I understand why you’d want to go to Amazon to buy books, and in a way I agree with my teacher- it can be cheaper than going to a bookshop, but if everyone does that, then all the bookshops are going to lose customers and profit and all the rest of it, and it’s a bit unfair really. Think about it this way: It’s like at school, where you’re that kid who has the new Pokemon game, and then there’s this other wannabe kid, who’s like “Hey I want to be like that but better”, so they go and plead their parents to get them theย newer and more improvedย Pokemon game, so then everyone think’s this other kid is cooler, when they really just stole something that was enjoyable for you, and now everyone thinks you’re uncool.

Man, I am a master of metaphors.

And alliteration, apparently…

*This is why I want to take English at University*

What I’m trying to say, is that we shouldn’t just go to one place because it’s quicker and easier to use. I think the idea of going to a bookshop is so exciting. When I go into town, I have to go to Waterstones or any other bookshop, because I don’t want to miss out. It’s not like I don’t have enough books already- I really do need to limit myself to the amount of books I buy- and there is a whole load of them that I haven’t had time to read. But I just love bookshops so much, and it would make me really sad to see them going down the plughole because this new and improved bookseller-and-everything-elser has come along to take all the glory.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

