opinion, ramblings

“Those” People


Hey guys.

I’m sure everyone reading this has, at some point in their lives, come across those types of people who you are never going to like, no matter how hard you try, no matter if you’re a person who gets along with everyone… it just isn’t going to work out. The unfortunate thing is that you don’t just find these people at school. You’ll get them at college, or in a job, or maybe your neighbor, or a friend of a friend.

I’ve learnt to adjust to certain people and their behavior, so I don’t always take it personally. I think I’m quite extroverted so talking to people isn’t a problem for me. But I do know people who find it hard to talk to some people because they’re intimidating- some of my friends face this problem. The thing is, it doesn’t matter if you’re good at talking to people or not, you will either like someone or you won’t.

At school, in the last two years I’ve been at my Sixth Form, I’ve found that there’s still a fair few people I’ve never even spoken to. I’ve heard lots of things about them, and that makes an impression to me, so that I won’t want to talk to them. On the other hand, there are people who I knew quite well, or in some cases, really well, and for no good reason, they just ditched me because of the people I’m friends with. That’s not cool.
There was someone who I considered to be a really good friend of mine, who was in all of my English classes, and we always sat in the same group, and we had similar tastes in music (All-American Rejects, if you must know) and when she went to college after Year 11, I saw her once and that was it. We both came from different primary schools, and she went to the same one as one of my best friends today. Now, they had a bit of an interesting history, which I’m not going to talk about because it’s not for me to say, but basically, because I became friends with her friend, she completely blanked me out of her life. I had never done anything to offend her, apart from being friends with one of her ex-friends.
I actually bumped into her when we saw the Fault in our Stars, but I didn’t say anything because I didn’t know what to say, and to this day I wish I had said something to see what she’d have said back. But I guess some things in life aren’t meant to be.

You also get people who really get on my nerves, because they’re the type of person who thinks they’re amazing at life and everyone loves them, when in reality, they’re just a bit of an attention seeker. I have quite a few people like this in my school, one of which was in my Drama and English class. The first thing, is that when I was in drama with this person, they would have no problem voicing their opinion and reading out loud, but in English (we are currently reading Othello) they refuse point blank to read anything. I’ve never understood why people do this and it really bugs me.

Finally, there are those people who will always take charge, whether they know what they’re talking about or not. And they think they’re amazing at the subject, but you’re that person who’s quite quiet and you know you got a better grade than them but you don’t really want to say so because that would make you seem arrogant so you don’t say anything, and instead just sit there and get on with it because what’s the worst that could happen?

I’m sorry, that was a bit of a rant which wasn’t my original intention.

If you are one of the people listed above, or fit into a similar category, or if there are people you know who are either like this, or are even worse than these examples, I’d love to know. That way we can complain about them together! YAY.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

