Travels

Why go Travelling?


Hey guys!

As you know, I’ve done quite a fair bit of travelling in my time, and this year alone I have been to four different countries. But why? Why should people make the effort to buy a plane ticket, organize a hotel, get on a plane, do some sightseeing, eat some national cuisine…

The reason I want to go and travel around the world is because it fascinates me. I’ve been to South Africa countless times, and I suppose I’m lucky that way because I’m from there, and I have family who live there, and I have a South African passport so I don’t need to get a Visa. And, I guess I’m used to the culture shock of seeing townships everywhere. I think if one of my friends came to South Africa with us, they’d most likely react differently to me and my family, because we’ve seen it before.

I really want to go on a Year Abroad when I go to University, and one of the ones I looked at recently offered an English Literature course at a University in Sao Paulo, Brazil. If I did get into that Uni, then I would definitely be shooting off to Brazil in my third year, because South America is the place I want to visit. I think the fact that you get to go to another country to study is more beneficial than just doing a Gap Year, because you get to do your course, do some travelling and even make some money. And learn a new language, of course.

If I could, I would love to go and travel around the world, and me and my sister might be doing a tour of the East coast of America, and a bit of Canada in July which is pretty exciting, because we last went to America when we were 9 or 10 with the family, but this time it’ll be just the two of us…. and a group of other young people.

I think it’s important for people to go and travel because it gives you a sense of independence, especially if you are on your own, and you have to grow up. But it’s not only that personal experience thing. It’s the food, the people, the music and carnivals and the buildings and the colour and the atmosphere of being somewhere new and exciting.

Does that not make you want to go somewhere? Even if it’s just across the border?

If you have been anywhere really different that you would recommend, then please do! That’d be really cool and stuff.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

