Swimming

Routine


Hey guys!

Firstly, I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to realize this, but my blog is basically my life story. Well. Since 2011 at least, but all the same, it’s like my autobiography. If the time ever comes when I’m rich and famous and it’s about time that I have to write about my life, all I’m going to have to do is take a look at my blog because it’s all here.Β 

I know that hasn’t got anything to do with the title exactly, but I thought I should put it out there. Actually no, it does have a bit to do with the title “Routine”, and here’s why.

I always struggle over the six week long summer holidays to find things to do when I’m not travelling or doing stuff with people because they’re also busy etc, etc… And this year my problem was the whole thing with swimming. Last year we were in South Africa for a month, so I was able to get a gym membership and train 5 days a week with the Triathletes and a South African Olympic swimmer (no, not Chad Le Clos, although I wouldn’t mind that either!) so my routine pretty much stayed the same. I had to get up super early twice a week and even though all the people I was swimming with were all older than me (and better than me… *ehem*) it helped me to motivate myself so that was cool. And it also made my life so much easier when I came back to training at home because I wasn’t so unfit from eating loads of cake.Β 

But this year was different because we were away for only two weeks, and it seemed pointless to get a membership for such a short amount of time, so we just left it.

And then we went to Amsterdam.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love travelling so so much and I want to see the world. But I had my first hour long training session last night, and although I had a stitch for like half an hour, it felt so good to be back into the routine and in the water and I realized how much I missed it. Also I managed to finish the set, so that was a bonus! (Okay, I think my coach made it easy on purpose, but still. Let me have my moment of glory!)

In the last week that I’ve been back home in Devon, I’ve enjoyed my 10am lie ins, but every single day I’ve been getting more and more bored and restless and I think it’s because I’ve been sitting around not doing an awful lot, and now that I’ve been swimming again it’s like everything is normal, and I don’t think it’s going to be as bad as I thought to get back into my routine.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

