books, reviews

Review on… Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend


Hey guys!

Last night I finished reading “Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend” by Matthew Green, and can I just say, that it was probably one of the best books I’ve read in a while.

If you hadn’t guessed by the title, the story is about an eight-year-old boy called Max and his imaginary friend, Budo. Budo has been alive for five years, (which is a very long time in the world of imaginary friends) and from start to finish, I was captivated by the story and the style Green wrote in. The book is from the point of view of Budo, which I liked the idea of because it’s nothing like I’ve read before and the whole thing was really clever. For example, Green tells us through Budo and his description of Max (and the other characters) that Max has Autism, but this is never actually mentioned. You can just tell by his behavior around other people.

Even though this story is really based around the friendship between Budo and Max, it’s also an Investigation/Mystery book. I don’t think I can categorize what sort of age group it is for, but the fact that it has some strong language in it makes me think that it’s probably more ideal for teenagers aged 13+. I absolutely loved it, like I said, and I think it’s definitely going to stay in my list of top 10 books… even my top 5 books, for a long time.

There were a couple of things that I can criticize though, like how frustrated I got while reading the book. It wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it was the fact that it was so frustratingly good,Β and I’m quite a patient person but I discovered that I was so impatient to find out what happens at the end, which I consider to be a good thing. Green’s writing style really captivated me as a reader, and now that I’ve finished reading it, I actually feel quite empty. I’m unaware of any sequels to the book, but that’s okay because I don’t know how it could continue.

Basically, the book is awesome, the book is awesome, the BOOK IS FRICKEN AWESOME! (But now I may have a slight trust issue with teachers…)

-The Storyteller

imaginary

Leave a Reply

