opinion, ramblings, Random

Spending Money


Hey guys!

I happen to be one of those lucky teenagers who has managed to get themselves a job. Heck, I even had to jobs going at the same time for a little while, but that’s not the point. 

If you don’t know, I am a lifeguard, which is really cool because I know most of the people I work with already due to being part of the swimming club. And also, I only really have to work if they need me, so if I’m busy “revising” for exams, then I can actually revise for exams. But when payday comes, it’s such a great feeling to know that you actually have money! Money you can spend! Money that wasn’t in your bank account yesterday and now it’s that moment when you feel rich and powerful!

But here’s the thing. 

As much as I love earning money, spending money, on the other hand, is a bit of a different matter. Last week, me and my sister went on a little bit of a shopping spree, and I’m not going to tell you how much money I spent, because it was a lot. I spent so much money that I don’t even know how much I spent- I don’t even want to know. But at a guess, it would be £50+ which is loads for someone like me. 

So the question is, is it right to feel bad for spending money that you have worked hard for? I don’t think it should be, but it just is. And it sucks because then I feel like I’m limiting myself to all the really cool stuff I could get. Now, don’t get me wrong, I literally never go on shopping sprees, and sometimes my mum pays for stuff which is nice of her, because we probably don’t deserve it! 

But anyway.

Does anyone else feel that way? I mean, this is coming from a seventeen year old English girl who, in her lifetime, has only secured three jobs in which I am paid. Two of them have been in the last year, so that goes to show how fricken hard it is to get a job around here. I’m not complaining about that though. I think it’s the fact that I’ve only ever had three jobs, which makes me not trust myself with money. I don’t want to suddenly find out that I have no money to my name because I decided to spend it all in one go. (Luckily that hasn’t happened. Yet…)

Quite frankly, spending money scares me. Money scares me. How the frick to adults do it? I only have a few more months before I’m a legal adult but I still have no good ideas on how to manage my money properly. I guess it’s one of life’s mysteries that they never decide to teach at school… 

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

