Travels

My Week in Paris


Hey guys!

I’ve had the weekend to recover, and can now tell you all about my week in Paris. It was a school trip, and I was allowed to go along with my friend instead of doing work experience (which I’ll be doing next week) because we both do A-Level French. Everyone else on the trip who wasn’t a teacher was in years 7-9, so we were basically there to have fun and make sure they didn’t get lost, or make too much noise when they were supposed to be sleeping.

Monday and Friday were the travelling days, so I won’t go into too much detail about them, but on Tuesday we went to Disneyland. I went on the Paris trip when I was in year 9, so I knew how the week would work out, and it had been 3 years since I went to Disney. Firstly, we went on Space Mountain, and it was amazing. So amazing in fact, we went on it twice, and the second time round we were right at the front. We also went on the Rocking Rollercoaster twice, met Mickey Mouse, went on the Tower of Terror, the Indiana Jones ride, and the Big Thunder Mountain Ride.

Wednesday was our grand tour of Paris, which included going half way up the Eiffel Tower (walking all the way up the stairs and all the way back down again… the queues for the lifts were waaaaay to long!), driving past the Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre, the Needle, the Musee d’Orsay, and Johnny Depp’s apartment as well as the Moulin Rouge. We also had a possible Celebrity spotting, and we all thought Johnny Depp was sitting outside a cafe. In fairness, I was sitting on the other side of the bus so I couldn’t really see, but from what I got was a very close look-a-like to the man himself. I still don’t really know if it was him or not, but I’d like to think so.
We went up to the Sacre Couer where we had lunch and bought things for ourselves and the teachers- little thank you presents for organizing the trip. It’s weird considering how many times I’ve been to Paris, I don’t remember ever going inside the Sacre Couer…

Thursday was the day of Parc Asterix, which is always one of the highlights of the trip. We went on this bobsled type of ride which I can’t remember the name of, Tonnere de Zeus(The massive wooden, rickety, super fast ride) Goudurix (the big-yellow-seven-looper), and some other rides which I can’t remember the name of…
This was the hottest day of the whole trip, peaking at around 35 degrees Celsius. Not to mention the humidity… So we thought the best thing to do was to go on as many water rides as possible. There was one which seemed to get everyone drenched, but I think it was because I was sitting in the middle which meant I didn’t exactly get soaked. Anyway, we went around to all the water rides, and eventually it was time to go.
As it was the last evening, we had a meal and everyone was supposed to dress up. The girls did this pretty well, but most of the guys just wore t-shirts and shorts.

On the Friday, we had an awards ceremony on the coach, which was supposed to be done on the Thursday night, but because someone had gotten sun stroke and had to go to hospital meant we were two teachers and two students down. Anyway, everything worked out in the end and as always, it was an amazing trip.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

