films, reviews

Review On… How To Train Your Dragon 2


Hey guys!

So the sequel to one of my ALL TIME FAVOURITE MOVIES came out yesterday here in the UK, and I finally had the privilege of seeing it with some of my friends who are as addicted to it as I am.

For those of you who haven’t seen the first film, which came out in 2010, it is about Hiccup, a Viking who basically becomes a Dragon Rider. But we’re not here to talk about the first film, we’re here to talk about the sequel.
It’s 5 years on, and the island of Burk have welcomed Dragons as pets and even have great use of them in their Dragon Races. Hiccup’s father, the chief of Burk is still the same old chief, especially when it comes to traditions and his want for Hiccup to become the new chief of Burk at some stage. However, being Hiccup, he doesn’t want to end up like his father (like all rebellious 20 year old Vikings these days…)
When out riding, Hiccup and Astrid find some Dragon trappers, and thus the basis of the story unfolds.

How To Train Your Dragon 2 was, for me, a bit like most sequels and not quite as good as the original. Personally, I found some parts a bit predictable (I’m not going to give any spoilers) but I guessed what was going to happen about 10 minutes before it happened, which doesn’t always happen when I guess what’s going to happen. I wasn’t disappointed by this film necessarily, I just expected a little bit more in some parts than others- if that makes any sense?

There are a number of plot twists, so prepare yourselves for that, and it’s really funny because there is a bit of a love triangle between Fishlegs, Snotlout, and Ruffnut, which really gave the film a light hearted feel to it, but at the same time, it was somewhat relateable! I do recommend How To Train Your Dragon 2. I think it was just my high expectations of there being a sequel which made me a little bit disappointed with it, but as I said, it was definitely a good one to see and it’s very funny (and dramatic).

-The Storyteller

MV5BMzMwMTAwODczN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDk2NDA4MTE@._V1_SX214_AL_

Leave a Reply

